LSU Athletics Creative Services

Mays, Richard-Harris Represent LSU At SEC Councils (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Councils will convene for their annual meeting at SEC headquarters here Friday and Saturday.

The two councils consists of one male representative and one female representative from each of the SEC’s 14 institutions. Representing LSU will be Skylar Mays and Jaelyn Richard-Harris.

Among the agenda items for the group is a conversation with Commissioner Greg Sankey followed by a review of NCAA and SEC legislative items related to basketball. The 28 student-athletes will also have an opportunity to engage with men’s and women’s basketball officials on rules of the game and student-athlete/referee interaction.

Renee Brown, former WNBA Chief of Basketball Operations and Player Relations, will meet with the women’s representatives to discuss careers in professional sports and WNBA preparedness, while the men’s representatives will hear from former ESPN College Basketball analyst Andy Katz on the topics of careers in broadcasting and personal and professional image and branding.

The Men’s Basketball Leadership Council and the Women’s Basketball Leadership Council comprise two components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The third component is the Football Leadership Council. For the second consecutive year, the groups will gather in Atlanta the week of the SEC Football Championship Game in December for a career exploration tour.

The student-athletes who comprise the SEC Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council are:

Men’s Basketball
Daniel Giddens, Alabama
Adrio Bailey, Arkansas
Anfernee McLemore, Auburn
Kevarrius Hayes, Florida
Connor O’Neil, Georgia
Dillon Pulliam, Kentucky
Skylar Mays, LSU
Breein Tyree, Ole Miss
Mitchell Storm, Mississippi State
Brett Rau, Missouri
Maik Kotsar, South Carolina
Kyle Alexander, Tennessee
Admon Gilder, Texas A&M
Larry Austin, Vanderbilt

Women’s Basketball
Hannah Cook, Alabama
Jailyn Mason, Arkansas
Janiah McKay, Auburn
Haley Lorenzen, Florida
Taja Cole, Georgia
Alyssa Rice, Kentucky
Jaelyn Richard-Harris, LSU
Shandricka Sessom, Ole Miss
Blair Schaefer, Mississippi State
Jordan Frericks, Missouri
A’Ja Wilson, South Carolina
Mercedes Russell, Tennessee
Danni Williams, Texas A&M
Christa Reed, Vanderbilt




Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - June 1-4
May. 30
Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - May 15-20
May. 14