Ott Named to Stopper of the Year Watch List

LSU's Matty Ott
LSU's Matty Ott
Bill Franques
Bill Franques
Communications Sr. Associate

BATON ROUGE -- LSU sophomore right-hander Matty Ott is one of 40 players named to the initial watch list for the sixth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball.

Ott, a finalist last season for the Stopper of the Year Award, was a 2009 second-team All-American and the SEC Co-Freshman of the Year. He established the LSU single-season saves record with 16, surpassing the previous mark of 14 set by Rick Greene in 1991. Ott, a product of Chalmette, La., recorded a 4-2 mark and a 2.68 ERA in 37 appearances, collecting six walks and 69 strikeouts in 50.1 innings.

Ott earned the win over Texas in Game 1 of CWS Finals on June 22, firing three shutout innings while allowing no hits with one walk and three strikeouts.

Last year's Stopper of the Year winner, Addison Reed of San Diego State, also headlines the list of preseason nominees for the 2010 award. Reed recorded a nation-leading 20 saves in 20 opportunities last season, finished the year with a microscopic 0.65 earned run average and 38 strikeouts over his 27.2 innings of work. He allowed only seven walks, with two of those being intentional passes and his save total was a new San Diego State and Mountain West Conference season record.

The watch list also features two-time finalist Eric Pettis of UC Irvine. Pettis had a strong 2009 season, posting a 5-2 record with a 3.86 ERA and 17 saves, while striking out 37 batters in 42 innings.

Among the other most notable nominees are the three relief pitching members of the NCBWA preseason All-American second team (Ryan Duke of Oklahoma, Chris Franklin of Southeastern Louisiana and Tyler Mizenko of Winthrop), along with all four members of the third team (Mitchell Lambson of Arizona State, Colin Bates of North Carolina, Collin Cargill of Southern Miss and Michael Schum of Wright State).

The Big 12 Conference led the way with five players named to the preseason watch list. The ACC, Conference USA and the SEC had four pitchers each on this year's watch list, while the Pacific-10 Conference is represented by three players.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relation contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 19, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 2, prior to start of NCAA regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee then will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced on the opening day of the College World Series on June 19.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006, Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007, Georgia's Joshua Fields topping the field in 2008 and San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbing the honor last season.


Steve Arico, Virginia, Jr.
Chris Bassit, Akron, So.
Colin Bates, North Carolina, Jr.
Chad Bettis, Texas Tech, Sr.
Mike Bolsinger, Arkansas, Sr.
Collin Cargill, Southern Miss, Jr.
Andrew Chafin, Kent State, So.
Chase Dempsay, Houston, Jr.
Ryan Duke, Oklahoma, Jr.
Chris Enourato, West Virginia, Sr.
Nick Fleece, Texas A&M, Jr.
Chris Franklin, SE Louisiana, Sr.
Drew Gagnier, Oregon, Jr.
Tim Girdwood, Elon,, Jr.
Cole Green, Texas, Jr.
Austin Hubbard, Auburn, Sr.
Mitchell Lambson, Arizona State, So.
Justin Malone, Georgia State, So.
Eric Marshall, TCU,, Sr.
Cody Martin, Gonzaga, Jr.
Scott Matyas, Minnesota, Jr.
Randy McCurry, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Kevin McKague, Army, Jr.
Jarad Miller, Valparaiso, Jr.
Tyler Mizenko, Winthrop, So.
Kevin Moran, Boston College, Jr.
Jake Morgan, Mississippi, Jr.
Kevin Munson, James Madison, Jr.
Matty Ott, LSU, So.
Nick Pepitone, Tulane, Jr.
Eric Pettis, UC Irvine, Sr.
Mark Pope, Georgia Tech, So.
Nick Ramirez, Cal State Fullerton So.
Addison Reed, San Diego State, So.
Kevin Rhoderick, Oregon State, Jr.
Michael Schum, Wright State, So.
Gabriel Shaw, Louisville, Jr.
Chad Sheppard, Northwestern State So.
Seth Simmons, East Carolina, Jr.
Zach Varce, Portland, So.





Baseball vs. Nicholls - Audio Replay
Mar. 20
Baseball Highlights vs. Nicholls
Mar. 20
Inside LSU Baseball - Episode 1
Mar. 19