Baseball's Bradford Named to Preseason All-America Team

Jared Bradford won or saved 10 of LSUís 12 SEC wins in '07.
Jared Bradford won or saved 10 of LSUís 12 SEC wins in '07. (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE -- LSU senior pitcher Jared Bradford was named Wednesday to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association preseason third-team All-America squad.

There are 19 conferences and 39 schools represented on the three NCBWA preseason All-America teams, which form the base for the ’08 Pro-Line Athletic All-America squad and the 22nd annual Dick Howser Trophy, presented by the St. Petersburg (Fla.) Area Chamber of Commerce and voted upon by the NCBWA membership.

The Howser Trophy will be awarded on June 14 prior to Game 1 of the College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb.

Bradford, a right-hander from Hueytown, Ala., completed the 2007 regular season with a 10-4 mark, tying Vanderbilt’s David Price and Casey Weathers for the most victories among SEC pitchers.

Bradford also led LSU with five saves, and he posted either a win or a save in 10 of LSU’s 12 SEC victories.

A 2007 second-team all-SEC selection, Bradford worked a team-high 96 innings, recording 16 walks, 81 strikeouts and a .255 opponents’ batting average. He started 11 games and made 12 relief appearances during the regular season.

Bradford was named a Collegiate Baseball National Player of the Week on March 5 after a 13-strikeout performance against Lipscomb. He was also named the Louisiana Sportswriters Association Pitcher of the Week on four occasions.

Preseason practice for Bradford and his LSU teammates is scheduled to begin on Feb. 1. The Tigers open the 2008 season on Feb. 22 versus Indiana in Alex Box Stadium.

2008 Preseason NCBWA All-America Team

First Team

Pos. Name, School
C Petey Paramore, Arizona State
1B Brett Wallace, Arizona State
2B Johnny Giavotella, New Orleans
3B Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt
SS Derek Shunk, Villanova
UTIL Zach Putnam, Michigan
DH C.J. Ziegler, Arizona
OF Aaron Luna, Rice
OF Kyle Russell, Texas
OF Dominic de la Osa, Vanderbilt


Pos. Name School
SP Ryan Berry, Rice
SP Scott Gorgen, UC Irvine
SP Preston Guilmet, Arizona
SP Brian Matusz, San Diego
SP Josh Satow, Arizona State
SP Jacob Thompson, Virginia
RP Daniel Edwards, Kansas St
RP Eryk McConnell, NC State
RP Cole St. Clair, Rice
Second Team

Pos. Name, School
C Tim Federowicz, North Carolina
1B Justin Smoak, South Carolina
2B Brandon Turner, Mississippi State
3B Conor Gillaspie, Wichita State
SS Danny Espinosa, Long Beach State
UTIL Josh Romanski, San Diego
DH Kiel Roling, Arizona State
OF Ollie Linton, UC Irvine
OF Mike Bianucci, Auburn
OF Mike McKenna, FAU

Pos. Name School
SP Bobby Gagg, Coastal Car.
SP Buddy Leake, Arizona St.
SP Lance Lynn, Ole Miss
SP Mike Minor, Vanderbilt
SP Zack Pitts, Louisville
SP Mike Stutes, Oregon State
RP David Cales, UIC
RP Pat Venditte, Creighton
RP Drew Weatherford, MS St.
Third Team (ties in voting)

Pos. Name, School
C Buster Posey, Florida State
1B Dustin Ackley, North Carolina
2B Alex Buchholz, Delaware
2B Blake Stouffer, Texas A&M
3B Matt Prokopowicz, Hofstra
SS Brandon Crawford, UCLA
UTIL Cole White, Army
DH Scott Hawkins, La.-Lafayette
OF Tony Campana, Cincinnati
OF Ike Davis, Arizona State
OF Scott Krieger, George Mason
OF Ryan Lavarnway, Yale
OF Mike McKenna, FAU


Pos. Name School
SP Jared Bradford, LSU
SP Aaron Crow, Missouri
SP Eric Erickson, Miami (Fla
SP Ben Mancuso, Creighton
SP Rob Musgrave, Wichita St
SP Aaron Shafer, Wichita St
SP Anthony Shawler, Old Dom.
RP Nick Cassavechia, Baylor
RP Joe Kelly, UC Riverside
RP Chris Manning, Belmont 




Baseball vs. Nicholls - Audio Replay
Mar. 20
Baseball Highlights vs. Nicholls
Mar. 20
Inside LSU Baseball - Episode 1
Mar. 19