Chris Parent (@chrisparent)

Etling, Key to Take Part in All-Star Challenge

Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Assoc. Athletic Director/Communications

BATON ROUGE – Former LSU standouts Danny Etling and Arden Key will be among 24 players from across the country taking part in the 2018 State Farm All-Star Football Challenge at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas on Friday.

The event, now in its 20th year, will air on ESPN2 at 8 p.m.

The competition features the 24 participants divided into six teams based on their conference affiliation. Etling and Key will be paired with running back Bo Scarbrough (Alabama) and safety Armani Watts (Texas A&M) to form Team SEC.

Each team will compete for conference supremacy in a series of skills competitions ranging from quarterback accuracy, a hands competition, a strength challenge and an obstacle course. There will be individual winners crowned in each category. A team champion will be determined based on a cumulative score for each participant.

Past participants of the All-Star Challenge include three Heisman Trophy winners (Ron Dayne, Troy Smith and Jason White), 69 first-round NFL Draft picks and 33 Pro Bowlers, such as: Drew Brees, Aaron Rodgers, Matt Ryan, Jamaal Charles, Greg Olsen, Dez Bryant, Von Miller, Vernon Davis, Joe Flacco, Donovan McNabb, Edgerrin James and Jalen Ramsey.

The event will have encore airings on ESPN at 2 p.m. CT on April 14, on ESPN2 at 10 p.m. CT on April 16 and on ESPN2 at 10 a.m. CT on April 22.

For more information on the 2018 State Farm All-Star Football Challenge, like our Facebook page ( and follow us on Twitter (@AllStarFBall) and Instagram (@AllStarFball).

The following players will participate in the 2018 State Farm All-Star Football Challenge:
Team ACC
Kurt Benkert – QB – Virginia
Tremaine Edmunds – LB – Virginia Tech
Bradley Chubb – DE – NC State
Derwin James – S – Florida State

Team Big Ten
J.T. Barrett – QB – Ohio State
Jerome Baker – LB – Ohio State
Sean Welsh – G – Iowa
Joshua Jackson – CB – Iowa

Team Big 12
Nic Shimonek – QB – Texas Tech
Ogbonnia Okoronkwo – DE – Oklahoma
Orlando Brown – OT – Oklahoma
Mark Andrews – TE – Oklahoma

Team Pac-12
Josh Rosen – QB – UCLA
Uchenna Nwosu – LB – USC
Vita Vea – DT – Washington
Isaiah Oliver – CB – Colorado

Team SEC
Danny Etling – QB – LSU
Bo Scarbrough – RB – Alabama
Arden Key – DE – LSU
Armani Watts – S – Texas A&M

Team “Wild Card”
Logan Woodside – QB – Toledo
Marcus Davenport – DE – UTSA
Will Hernandez – OG – UTEP
Cedric Wilson – WR – Boise State




Coach Orgeron Post-Signing Day
Feb. 6
Ed Orgeron Signing Day Press Conference
Feb. 6
Devin White - Message to LSU
Jan. 14