LSU Athletics Creative Services

Football Leads SEC with 17-Straight Super Bowl Reps

Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Assoc. Athletic Director/Communications

BATON ROUGE – With three former Tigers in this year’s Super Bowl, LSU will run its streak of consecutive years with a player in the title game to 17 straight.

The 17-consecutive years with a player in the Super Bowl ties with Georgia for the longest such streak in the Southeastern Conference. Nebraska holds the nation’s longest streak at 25 straight years with a player in the Super Bowl.

The list of former Tigers playing on Super Bowl Sunday this year include: defensive tackle Ricky Jean Francois (Patriots), punter Donnie Jones (Eagles) and defensive back Jalen Mills (Eagles).

Former Tiger and current LSU Director of Player Development Kevin Faulk holds the school record for most Super Bowl appearances with five, all coming with the New England Patriots. Faulk won three Super Bowls during his 13-year NFL career, also the most in LSU history.

LSU’s 17-year Super Bowl streak dates back to Faulk’s first appearance in the game in 2002.

The following is a look at the SEC streak of former players appearing on Super Bowl participant rosters:

School - Current Streak
1. LSU - 17 years
1. Georgia - 17
3. Florida - 16
4. Alabama - 10
5. Arkansas - 9
5. Tennessee - 9
5. Texas A&M - 9
8. South Carolina - 6
9. Ole Miss - 4
10. Auburn - 3
11. Vanderbilt - 1
11. Mississippi State - 1
13. Missouri - 0
13. Kentucky - 0



Coach Orgeron Post-Signing Day
Feb. 6
Ed Orgeron Signing Day Press Conference
Feb. 6
Devin White - Message to LSU
Jan. 14