Scott, LaFell on Maxwell Award Watch List

LSU's Brandon LaFell
LSU's Brandon LaFell
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Assoc. Athletic Director/Communications

BATON ROUGE -- LSU running back Charles Scott and wide receiver Brandon LaFell are among 55 players nationwide who have been named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, the organizers of the award announced on Friday.

The Maxwell Award is given annually to the outstanding player in college football. Last year, Florida quarterback Tim Tebow won the award.

Scott, a first-team All-Southeastern Conference pick last year, goes into his senior season with 1,775 career rushing yards and 28 TDs. Last year, Scott racked up 1,174 yards on the ground and he ranked second in the SEC in rushing TDs with 18. The 18 rushing touchdowns rank as the second-highest total in LSU history.

LaFell ranked among the SEC leaders in both receptions (63) and receiving yards (929) last year as a junior. LaFell goes into his final season with the Tigers having caught 118 passes for 1,725 and 14 touchdowns during his career. LaFell earned first-team all-conference honors last year.

The following is a list of LSU players who are on preseason watch lists for national awards:

Award - Given To

Rahim Alem
Ted Hendricks Award - Top defensive end
Bednarik Trophy - Top defender

Ciron Black
Outland Trophy - Top interior lineman

Richard Dickson
John Mackey Award - Top tight end

Jordan Jefferson
Davey O’Brien - Top quarterback

Brandon LaFell
Maxwell Award - Outstanding player in college football
Biletnikoff Award - Top wide receiver

Charles Scott
Maxwell Award - Outstanding player in college football
Doak Walker Award - Top running back





2019 Football Spring Game - Highlights
Apr. 6
2019 Football Spring Game - Audio Replay
Apr. 6
Coach Orgeron Interview - Pre Spring Game
Apr. 3