Football DE Alem on Hendricks Award Watch List

LSU senior Rahim Alem
LSU senior Rahim Alem
Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Associate SID

CHICAGO -- LSU senior Rahim Alem is one of 30 players from across the nation on the watch list for the Ted Hendricks Award, presented annually to college football’s top defensive end, the Ted Hendricks Foundation has announced.

Alem heads into the 2009 season as one of the Tigers’ starters at defensive end. For his career, Alem has racked up 17 tackles for losses and 10 sacks in 31 games with one start.

Alem, a native of New Orleans, led LSU with eight sacks and 11.5 tackles for losses last season while recording 29 total tackles and seven quarterback hurries. He ranked third in the Southeastern Conference in sacks and eighth in the league in tackles for losses in 2008.

Alem is one of four SEC players on the watch list joining Florida’s Jermaine Cunningham, Auburn’s Antonio Coleman and Greg Hardy of Ole Miss.

Now in its eighth season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American. As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Ted used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs.

His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks' aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football's premier defensive end is presented.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee.

Candidates may represent any class (freshman through senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate's primary position must be defensive end. Players may be added or deleted, depending on performance, injury or other circumstances.  The 2009 winner will be announced on December 9.

2009 Ted Hendricks Award Watch List
Rahim Alem, LSU
Trevor Anderson, Michigan State
Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma
Alex Carrington, Arkansas State
Antonio Coleman, Auburn
Jermaine Cunningham, Florida
Dexter Davis, Arizona State
Auston English, Oklahoma
Randon Graham, Michigan
Greg Hardy, Ole Miss
Jerry Hughes, TCU
Jan Jorgensen, BYU
Sergio Kindle, Texas
Jammie Kirlew, Indiana
Brandon Lang, Troy
Eric Lorig, Stanford
Greg Middleton, Indiana
Koa Misi, Utah
Dontay Moch, Nevada
Eric Moncur, Miami
Doug Pilcher, Illinois
James Ruffin, Northern Iowa
George Selvie, South Florida
Will Tukuafu, Oregon
Lawrence Wilson, Ohio State
CJ Wilson, East Carolina
Lindsey Witten, Connecticut
Corey Wootton, Northwestern
Willie Young, N.C. State
Frank Zombo, Central Michigan





Spring Practice Report - Coach O, Week 3
Mar. 21
Coach Oregon Post-Practice Press Conference
Mar. 21
Inside the Huddle w/ Blake Ferguson
Mar. 20