Football's Black Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

LSU's Ciron Black
LSU's Ciron Black
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Assoc. Athletic Director/Communications

BATON ROUGE -- LSU offensive tackle Ciron Black is one of 40 players nationwide who have been named to the 2009 Outland Trophy Watch list, the organizers of the trophy announced on Tuesday.

Black, a senior from Tyler, Texas, is joined on the list by nine other players from the Southeastern Conference.

The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s top interior linemen, which includes the positions of tackles, guards and centers on both sides of the football. Presented since 1946, the Outland Trophy is the third oldest award in major college football. Former LSU standout Glenn Dorsey captured the Outland Trophy in 2007.

Black goes into his final season with the Tigers having started 40 consecutive games, all coming at the left tackle position. For his career, Black has played 2,654 snaps from scrimmage and he hasn’t allowed a sack since his rookie year in 2006. Black set a school record by playing 1,031 snaps from scrimmage as a sophomore in 2007.

The winner of the 2009 Outland Trophy will be announced in Orlando, Fla., on Dec. 10 at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show.

Jon Asamoah, Illinois, G
Geno Atkins, Georgia, DT
Zane Beadles, Utah, OL
Ciron Black, LSU, OT
Bryan Bulaga, Iowa, OT
Jeff Byers, USC, G
Brandon Carter, Texas Tech, G
Nick Charles, Air Force, G
Terrence Cody, Alabama, DT
Anthony Davis, Rutgers, OT
Chris Fisher, Louisiana-Lafayette, C
Kurtis Gregory, Missouri, G
Chris Hall, Texas, C
Mike Iupati, Idaho, OL
John Jerry, Ole Miss, OT
Mike Johnson, Alabama, OL
Arthur Jones, Syracuse, DT
Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma, DT
Josh McNeil, Tennessee, C
Andre Neblett, Temple, NT
Kristofer O'Dowd, USC, C
Jared Odrick, Penn State, DT
Vince Oghobaase, Duke, DT
Russell Okung, Oklahoma State, OT
Jeff Owens, Georgia, DT
Mike Pouncey, Florida, OL
Maurkice Pouncey, Florida, C
Brian Price, UCLA, DT
Sergio Render, Virginia Tech, G
Boo Robinson, Wake Forest, NG
Malcolm Sheppard, Arkansas, DT
D'Anthony Smith, Louisiana Tech, DT
Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska, DT
Matt Tennant, Boston College, C
Torrell Troup, UCF, DT
Adam Ulatoski, Texas, OT
J.D. Walton, Baylor, C
Trent Williams, Oklahoma, OT
Stefen Wisniewski, Penn State, C
Sam Young, Notre Dame, OT





Inside the Huddle w/ Blake Ferguson
Mar. 20
Spring Practice Report - Coach O, Week 1
Mar. 16
Inside the Huddle with Joe Burrow
Mar. 14