Receiver LaFell Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

LSU's Brandon LaFell at fall practice
LSU's Brandon LaFell at fall practice (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE -- LSU’s Brandon LaFell is one of 37 players on the watch list for the 2009 Biletnikoff Award, which recognizes the top wide receiver in college football, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation has announced.

LaFell has led the Tigers in receiving yards the past two seasons and heads into his senior year with 118 career receptions for 1,725 yards and 14 touchdowns. He carries a streak of 28 straight games with a reception into LSU’s season-opener at Washington on Sept. 5.

LaFell, a native of Houston, Texas, earned first-team All-Southeastern Conference honors by the Associated Press in 2008 after hauling in 63 passes for 929 yards and eight scores. He ranked second in the league in yards per game with 71.5 per contest, and he was third in the SEC with 4.8 receptions per game.

LaFell is one of four SEC players on the watch list, joining Ole Miss’ Shay Hodge, Georgia’s AJ Green and Alabama’s Julio Jones.

The winner of the 17th Biletnikoff Award will be announced as part of ESPN’s College Football Awards Show on December 10th. The award will be officially presented to the winner at the annual Biletnikoff Award dinner, hosted by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club, on Feb. 12, 2009.

Kris Adams, UTEP
Seyi Ajirotutu, Fresno State
Brandon Banks, Kansas State
Doug Beaumont, Louisville
Arrelious Benn, Illinois
Dezmon Briscoe, Kansas
Antonio Brown, Central Michigan
DeAndre Brown, Southern Miss
Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State
Tyron Carrier, Houston
Eric Decker, Minnesota
Jacoby Ford, Clemson
Cortez Gent, Florida Atlantic
Mardy Gilyard, Cincinnati
AJ Green, Georgia
Rashaun Greer, Colorado State
D’Andre Goodwin, Washington
T.Y. Hilton, Florida International
Shay Hodge, Ole Miss
Jerrel Jernigan, Troy
Damaris Johnson, Tulsa
Julio Jones, Alabama
Brandon LaFell, LSU
Detron Lewis, Texas Tech
Kerry Meier, Kansas
Dennis Pitta, BYU
Taylor Price, Ohio
Aldrick Robinson, SMU
Naaman Roosevelt, Buffalo
Greg Salas, Hawaii
Jordan Shipley, Texas
Jacory Stone, Eastern Michigan
Golden Tate, Notre Dame
Damian Williams, USC
Stephen Williams, Toledo
Ryan Wolfe, UNLV




Inside the Huddle w/ Blake Ferguson
Mar. 20
Spring Practice Report - Coach O, Week 1
Mar. 16
Inside the Huddle with Joe Burrow
Mar. 14