Football's Jefferson on O'Brien Award Watch List

LSU's Jordan Jefferson
LSU's Jordan Jefferson
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Assoc. Athletic Director/Communications

BATON ROUGE -- LSU sophomore quarterback Jordan Jefferson is one of 33 players who have been named to watch list for the 2009 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the organization has announced.

Jefferson is one of just four quarterbacks from the Southeastern Conference on the list. He’s joined by Tim Tebow (Florida), Jevan Snead (Ole Miss) and Ryan Mallett (Arkansas). In addition, Jefferson is one of only seven sophomores who made the list.

Jefferson played in seven games, starting twice, last year as a true freshman. He was named offensive MVP of the Chick-fil-A bowl when he led the Tigers to a 38-3 win over 14th-ranked Georgia Tech. Jefferson connected on 16-of-25 passes for 142 yards and one TD in the bowl game. Jefferson’s other start came in the regular-season finale against Arkansas.

For the year, Jefferson completed 36-of-73 passes for 419 yards, four touchdowns and just one interception. He also rushed for 134 yards and a score.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. Founded in 1981, The O'Brien seeks to honor candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship, leadership and character in both the athletic and academic arenas. Honorees are voted on by a national selection committee comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas.

2009 O'Brien Watch List:
Sam Bradford, Oklahoma, JR, Big 12
Jarrett Brown, West Virginia, SR, Big East
Daryll Clark, Penn State, SR, Big Ten
Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame, JR, IND
Aaron Corp, USC, SO, Pac-10
Robert Griffin, Baylor, SO, Big 12
Matt Grothe, South Florida, SR, Big East
Max Hall, BYU, SR, MWC
Tim Hiller, Western Michigan, SR, MAC
Jordan Jefferson, LSU, SO, SEC
Colin Kaepernick , Nevada, JR, WAC
Case Keenum, Houston, JR, C-USA
Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan, SR, MAC
Jake Locker, Washington, JR, Pac-10
Ryan Mallett, Arkansas, SO, SEC
Jeremiah Masoli, Oregon, JR, Pac-10
Colt McCoy, Texas, SR, Big 12
Kellen Moore, Boise State, SO, WAC
Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech, JR, ACC
Tony Pike, Cincinnati, SR, Big East
Taylor Potts, Texas Tech, JR, Big 12
Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State, SO, Big Ten
Todd Reesing, Kansas, SR, Big 12
Kevin Riley, California, JR, Pac-10
Zac Robinson, Oklahoma State, SR, Big 12
Riley Skinner, Wake Forest, SR, ACC
Rusty Smith, Florida Atlantic, SR, Sun Belt
Jevan Snead, Ole Miss, JR, SEC
Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech, JR, ACC
Tim Tebow, Florida, SR, SEC
Adam Weber, Minnesota, JR, Big Ten
Juice Williams, Illinois, SR, Big Ten
Russell Wilson, North Carolina State, SO, ACC





2019 Football Spring Game - Highlights
Apr. 6
2019 Football Spring Game - Audio Replay
Apr. 6
Coach Orgeron Interview - Pre Spring Game
Apr. 3