Tight End Dickson on Mackey Award Watch List

LSU's Richard Dickson
LSU's Richard Dickson
Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Associate SID

MANHASSET, N.Y. -- LSU senior tight end Richard Dickson has been named to the 2009 John Mackey Award preseason watch list, presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate tight end, the Nassau County Sports Commission announced on Wednesday.

Dickson, a native of Ocean Springs, Miss., heads into his final LSU season with a shot at breaking every tight end receiving record in school history. For his career, he has caught 69 passes for 795 yards and 10 touchdowns in 39 games.

Dickson’s 10 touchdown receptions are tied with Brad Boyd for the most in school history, while his 69 receptions is the fourth-highest total and the 795 yards are the fifth most in school history.

In 2008, he earned second-team All-Southeastern Conference honors after hauling in 31 passes for 324 yards and five touchdowns. Dickson started all 13 games, ranking third on the team in receptions and yards and was second on the squad in touchdown catches.

The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2009 award winner will be announced on Dec. 10, 2009. Since 2000, the John Mackey Award boasts eight NFL players as alumni.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to his community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

LSU reports to camp a week from today on Aug. 5 with practice scheduled to begin a day later. LSU opens its fifth year under head coach Les Miles on Sept. 5 when the Tigers travel to face Washington in Seattle. Kickoff is scheduled for 9:30 p.m. CT (7:30 p.m. PT) on ESPN.


Jeffrey Anderson JR UAB
Jake Ballard SR Ohio State
Greg Boone SR Virginia Tech
Nate Byham SR Pittsburgh
Jeff Cottam SR Tennessee
Ed Dickson SR Oregon
Richard Dickson SR LSU
TC Drake SR Kentucky
Charlie Gantt JR Mich St
Riar Geer SR Colorado
Garrett Graham SR Wisconsin
Jermaine Gresham SR Oklahoma
Rob Gronkowski JR Arizona
Aaron Hernandez JR Florida
Mike Hoomanawanui SR Illinois
Blaine Irby JR Texas
Jeron Mastrud SR Kansas St
Anthony McCoy SR USC
Mike McNeil SR Iowa
Tony Moeaki JR Nebraska
Ryan Moya SR UCLA
Logan Paulsen SR UCLA
Dennis Pitta SR BYU
Andrew Quarless JR Penn St
Kyle Rudolph SO Notre Dame
Weslye Saunders JR South Carolina
Cody Slate JR Marshall
Tommy Trott SR Auburn
DJ Williams JR Arkansas
Ben Wooster SR Wake Forest

2009 John Mackey Award Schedule
Pre-season Watch List released - Wednesday, July 29, 2009
Midseason Watch List released - Monday, October 19, 2009
Eight (8) Semi-Finalists released - Monday, Nov. 16, 2009
Three (3) Finalists released - Monday, Nov. 23, 2009
2009 recipient announced live at Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN - Thursday, Dec. 10, 2009
John Mackey Award presented at "Salute to Champions" Awards Dinner - Monday, April 26, 2010

Past John Mackey Award Recipients
2008 Chase Coffman, Missouri
2007 Fred Davis, USC
2006 Matt Spaeth, Minnesota
2005 Marcedes Lewis, UCLA
2004 Heath Miller, Virginia
2003 Kellen Winslow II, Miami
2002 Dallas Clark, Iowa
2001 Daniel Graham, Colorado
2000 Tim Stratton, Purdue




Inside the Huddle w/ Blake Ferguson
Mar. 20
Spring Practice Report - Coach O, Week 1
Mar. 16
Inside the Huddle with Joe Burrow
Mar. 14