Louisiana Sports HOF Show to Debut Tuesday on CST

Former Tiger football player Alan Faneca (photo by Shreveport Times)
Former Tiger football player Alan Faneca (photo by Shreveport Times)
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Communications Sr. Associate

NATCHITOCHES, La. – For the 12th consecutive year, Cox Sports Television and Louisiana Sports Writers Association productions will combine to broadcast the highlights of last month’s induction ceremonies of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, beginning with the premiere showing Tuesday evening at 7.

This year’s induction ceremony, which features three athletes with LSU ties, is presented by State Farm Insurance and the Louisiana State Farm Agents.

The debut broadcast for the show will be at 7 p.m. CDT on Tuesday (July 8). Other listings in the first week will occur on July 10 (5-6 p.m.), July 11 (10:30-11:30 p.m.) and July 12 (6-7 p.m.).

The hour show will focus on the induction ceremony at the Natchitoches Events Center, but will also show some of the events that highlight the induction weekend including the Celebrity Pro-Am Golf Tournament at Oak Wing in Alexandria, the first Folse, Fun and Fireworks dinner at The Landing in downtown Natchitoches and the Saints/Gatorade Junior Training Camp at Natchitoches Central High School.

In the induction class this year were: New Orleans Saints/Pelicans owner Tom Benson; former Louisiana Tech women’s basketball national champion and Olympic Gold Medalist Venus Lacy; Former NFL defensive star and coach Lionel Washington, a Lutcher High and Tulane product;  All-Star Astros pitcher Shane Reynolds; LSU and SEC pole vault champion and longtime Catholic High (BR) track and field coach Pete Boudreaux; and, LSU All-America and NFL All-Pro lineman Alan Faneca.

Inducted posthumously was Auburn football star and former LSU basketball and baseball head coach “Moon” Ducote, a former Loyola coach and athletic director and a Cottonport native; and, the longtime coach of the then USL (now UL-Lafayette) basketball team, Beryl Shipley.

The Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award and Hall of Fame induction was awarded to Tynes Hildebrand of Natchitoches, a coach and athletic director at Northwestern State who is now a leading NCAA basketball officials administrator; and Wright Waters, former longtime commissioner of the Sun Belt Conference based in New Orleans.

Joe Macaluso, the Baton Rouge Advocate’s acclaimed outdoors writer, was enshrined as he received the Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism from the Louisiana Sports Writers Association, the parent organization of the Hall of Fame.

Lyn Rollins, the voice of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, and Tammi Arender, anchor for Rural Farm News on RFD-TV in Nashville, host the broadcast along with LSWA Past President Kent Lowe.

Other July showings include: July 16 (6 p.m.), July 18 (Noon), July 19 (7 p.m.), July 20 (11:30 a.m.), July 22 (3:30 p.m.), July 24 (5 p.m.), July 25 (6 p.m.), July 27 (6 p.m.), and, July 31 (5 p.m.).  More show dates in August will be announced later this month.

The Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Museum is located at 800 Front Street in Natchitoches, showcasing the great sports history in the state. For more information on the Hall and information regarding hours for the 1-year-old, $23 million museum go to LaSportsHall.com. For more information on CST go to  CoxSportsTv.com.





Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - June 1-4
May. 30
Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - May 15-20
May. 14