Jones, Finnegan Named to SEC Service Team

LSU's Colin Finnegan
LSU's Colin Finnegan
Steve Franz
Brandon Berrio
Brandon Berrio
Assistant Communications Director

BATON ROUGE, La. – Senior Kyra Jones and sophomore Colin Finnegan have been named to the 2013-14 Southeastern Conference Men’s and Women’s Community Service Teams for their contributions to the Baton Rouge area.

“Serving and giving back to others is emphasized in our program,” LSU Swimming coach Dave Geyer said. “Through their efforts with SAAC (Student-Athlete Advisory Committee) and in the community, both have taken on a great leadership role on our team as well as in the LSU student-athlete community.”

Both are active members of the SAAC with Jones serving as president and Finnegan as social chairman.

In her three and a half years on campus, Jones has volunteered with LPB Young Heroes Day, Habitat for Humanity, Super Bowl XLVII NFL Experience, LSU Move in Day as well as the Sweet Olive Cemetery clean up.

Finnegan has participated in multiple Our Lady of the Lake Children’s Hospital visits as well as Thanksgiving for the Tigers. The Baton Rouge native has additionally volunteered at the Baton Rouge General Medical Center with the pet therapy program.

The pair also participated in the inaugural Geaux Big Baton Rouge as well as the annual  Halloween BOOzar.

The LSU Swimming and Diving begins championship season when they travel to Athens, Ga. for the SEC Swimming and Diving Championships beginning Feb. 18.

For more information and updates on LSU Swimming and Diving please visit, ‘like’ us on Facebook at LSU Swimming and Diving or follow us on Twitter @LSUswimdive.

The 2014 SEC Women’s Swimming and Diving Community Service Team:
Paige McCleary, Alabama
Lizzy Whitbeck, Arkansas
Summer Stephens, Florida
Shannon Vreeland, Georgia
Abby Myers, Kentucky
Kyra Jones, LSU
Lexi Spivak, Missouri
Taylor Josserand, South Carolina
Lauren Solernou, Tennessee
Kelli Benjamin, Texas A&M
Alyx Vernon, Vanderbilt

The 2014 SEC Men’s Swimming and Diving Community Service Team:
Philip Dockery, Alabama
Peter Haas, Auburn
Colin Hamilton, Florida
Connor Sweeney, Georgia
Maclin Simpson, Kentucky
Colin Finnegan, LSU
Logan Mosley, Missouri
Jay Warner, South Carolina
Carl Svagerko, Tennessee
Hayden Duplechain, Texas A&M





Swimming + Diving
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11
Swimming + Diving
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - Feb. 14-18
Feb. 19
Swimming + Diving
Swimming & Diving vs. Texas A&M - Music Video
Jan. 25