Softball's Fico Among Senior CLASS Award Finalists

LSU's Rachele Fico
LSU's Rachele Fico
Chris Parent (@chrisparent)
Matt Dunaway
Matt Dunaway

OVERLAND PARK, Ks. - LSU senior pitcher Rachele Fico was chosen as one of 30 softball players from across the country for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award as announced Wednesday.  Former All-American hurler Brittany Mack was one of the 30 finalists for the 2012 award.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition.

The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management owns and manages the award.

A native of Connecticut, Fico will honor the memory of the 26 victims from the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting by completing 26 "Random Acts of Kindness" with her teammates during the 2013 season. Fico and her teammates will blog about her experiences on, and the team will have a board dedicated to the "Random Acts of Kindness" in their clubhouse.

Starting with LSU's home game versus Nicholls State on March 13th, the 26th fan to enter Tiger Park for each home game will be the recipient of a "Random Acts of Kindness". 

Fico is a two-time member of the SEC's Academic Honor Roll and was selected as one of three team captains for the 2013 season. She is majoring in sports administration with a commerce concentration and is scheduled to graduate in May 2014.

For her career, Fico has recorded 60 career victories fueled by 26 shutouts during her three-plus seasons with the Tigers. She is off to a 6-0 start with a blistering 0.38 ERA this season. The senior right-hander has amassed 51 strikeouts on the young season and heads into this weekend's action eight Ks away from moving past Dani Hofer (2006-09) for fourth place on LSU's all-time list.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot.

Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Women's College World Series held in Oklahoma City May 30 through June 5.

Below is the complete list of finalists.

2013 Senior CLASS Award

Player, School
Emily Allard, Northwestern
Brooke Andresen, Loyola (Chicago)
Nikki Armagost, Pacific
Jennifer Barnett, Northern Illinois
B.B. Bates, UCLA
Kayla Braud, Alabama
Amy Buntin, Notre Dame
Allie Cashion, Appalachian State
Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
Kelly Coker, Rhode Island
Kara Dill, Kentucky
Kara Dornbos, Central Michigan
Rachele Fico, LSU
Olivia Galati, Hofstra
Mikkel Griffin, Southern Utah
Jolene Henderson, California
Kelsey Horton, Florida
Maggie Hull, Kansas
Shannon Jones, Siena
Courtney Liddle, Virginia Tech
Blaire Luna, Texas
Kelly Majam, Hawai'i
Jenna Marston, Missouri
Jennifer Ong, Yale
Jenna Rich, Stanford
Keilani Ricketts, Oklahoma
Emily Roesch, Boston
Jessica Shults, Oklahoma
Stephanie Thompson, Brown
Brianna Turang, Oklahoma





Softball at Florida St. - G2/3 Audio Replay
May. 26
Softball at Florida St. - G1 Highlights
May. 25
Softball at Florida St. - G1 Audio Replay
May. 25