Coaches Pick Lady Tigers Seventh; Webb Honored

LSU head coach Nikki Caldwell at SEC Media Day
LSU head coach Nikki Caldwell at SEC Media Day
Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Associate SID

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference unveiled its ninth annual women's basketball preseason All-SEC teams and a predicted order of finish as the LSU women's basketball team was selected seventh in a voting of the league's coaches, it was announced on Tuesday.

The Lady Tigers received 96 points in the voting. Kentucky was predicted to win the SEC women's basketball regular season championship with 167 votes. Georgia, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt, Tennessee and South Carolina round out the top half of the league with Florida, Arkansas, Auburn, Mississippi State, Alabama, Missouri and Ole Miss rounding out the lower half.

In addition, LSU senior guard Adrienne Webb was one of eight players who were named Second-Team All-SEC. Webb, a native of Madison, Ala., is the Lady Tigers' leading returning scorer and rebounder after averaging 9.9 points and 3.5 boards a year ago. Webb has posted 9.2 points per game for her career and she ranks sixth in LSU career annals with 123 made threes. 

Kentucky's A'dia Mathies was the choice of the coaches for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with eight votes.

Points were compiled on a 13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for order of prediction, while each player received two points for a first-team vote and one point for a second-team vote. Ties were not broken and coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team or players.

The complete listing of all honors follows.

School - Points 
1. Kentucky - 167
2. Georgia - 149
3. Texas A&M - 145
4. Vanderbilt - 143
5. Tennessee - 117
6. South Carolina - 102
7. LSU - 96
8. Florida - 92
9. Arkansas - 72
10. Auburn - 57
11. Mississippi State - 51
t12. Alabama - 33
t12. Missouri - 33
14. Ole Miss - 17

First Team All-SEC    
Sarah Watkins, Arkansas
Jennifer George, Florida
Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia
Jasmine Hassell, Georgia
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt
Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Jasmine James, Georgia
Bria Goss, Kentucky
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Adrienne Webb, LSU
Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Ariel Massengale, Tennessee
Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt





Women's Basketball
Summer 2018 Practice Highlights - June 22
Jun. 21
Women's Basketball
Summer 2018 - #4QFriday - June 15
Jun. 18
Women's Basketball
Weekly Practice Highlights - June 15
Jun. 15