Men's Basketball Picked Fifth in SEC West

LSU's Aaron Dotson at Saturday's practice
LSU's Aaron Dotson at Saturday's practice
Steve Franz
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Communications Sr. Associate

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The LSU men's basketball team was picked to finish fifth in the Southeastern Conference Western Division Monday as Florida was predicted to win the 2011 Southeastern Conference men's basketball championship in voting by a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

Each SEC school selected media members that cover their team and additional writers from across the nation were selected by the conference office to form the voting panel.

The Gators are coming off a 21-13 season and an appearance in the NCAA Tournament. They earned eight first-place votes, topping Mississippi State which earned three votes. Tennessee and Kentucky each received two votes and Georgia garnered one vote as SEC Champion.

Florida was the media's favorite to win the East with 110 total points (13 first-place votes), ahead of second-place Kentucky's 95 points (three first-place votes). Georgia (72 points) and Tennessee (71 points) were separated by just one point while Vanderbilt and South Carolina rounded out the top six.

In the West, Mississippi State's 118 total points (18 first-place votes) were ahead of Ole Miss' 84 points (two first-place votes). Alabama was picked third with 82 points. Arkansas, LSU and Auburn round out the top six in the West.

Georgia junior Trey Thompkins was the choice of the media for SEC Men's Basketball Player of the Year with 18 votes. Ole Miss senior Chris Warren (one vote) and Kentucky Freshman Brandon Knight (one vote) also received votes in the Player of the Year voting.

Thompkins, Warren and Knight were joined on the All-SEC First Team by Georgia junior Travis Leslie and Vanderbilt junior Jeffery Taylor.

Arkansas' Marshawn Powell led All-SEC Second Team honors and was joined by Florida's Boynton and Parsons, Alabama's JaMychal Green and Tennessee's Scotty Hopson.

Points were compiled on a 6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for each division. Each media member also voted for one team as an overall conference champion and a five-player All-SEC Team.

The 2010-11 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Day, Thursday, at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama. The 2010-11 season begins Nov. 12, with conference play set to begin January 8. The 2011 SEC Tournament will be held March 10-13 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga.

LSU men's basketball coach Trent Johnson and student-athlete Malcolm White will represent the Tigers at media day.

Season tickets and mini-plans are on sale for the 2010-11 season which opens on Fri., Nov. 12 at 7 p.m. in the Pete Maravich Assembly Center as LSU hosts Northwestern State. Ticket information and online sales can be found on the LSU web site at

Media day activities can be followed Thursday at and LSU basketball information and updates can be found at and on twitter @LSUbasketball and @LSUCoachJohnson.

Preseason Media Poll
(First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

SEC Champion: Florida (8); Mississippi State (3); Kentucky (2); Tennessee (2); Georgia (1)

Eastern Division Points
Florida (13) 110
Kentucky (3) 95
Georgia (2) 72
Tennessee (2) 71
Vanderbilt 52
South Carolina 20

Western Division Points
Mississippi State (18) 118
Ole Miss (2) 84
Alabama 82
Arkansas 72
LSU 41
Auburn 23

Brandon Knight, Kentucky
Travis Leslie, Georgia
Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt
Trey Thompkins, Georgia
Chris Warren, Ole Miss

Kenny Boynton, Florida
JaMychal Green, Alabama
Scotty Hopson, Tennessee
Chandler Parsons, Florida
Marshawn Powell, Arkansas

SEC Player of the Year: Trey Thompkins, Georgia





Men's Basketball
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11
Men's Basketball
Men's Basketball at Utah - Audio Replay
Mar. 19
Men's Basketball
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - March 13-18
Mar. 19