Collins, Alexander on Outland Trophy Watch List

LSU's La'el Collins and Vadal Alexander (78)
LSU's La'el Collins and Vadal Alexander (78)
Steve Franz
Jake Terry (@LSUjake)
Jake Terry (@LSUjake)
Associate SID

BATON ROUGE – LSU senior left tackle La'el Collins and junior left guard Vadal Alexander were named to the 2014 Outland Trophy Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America announced Thursday.

The award is presented each season to the best interior lineman on offense or defense in college football.

This marks the second straight season Collins has earned a spot on the Outland Trophy Watch List.

A senior from Baton Rouge, Collins enters the 2014 season as one of the top left tackles in college football. He has started 25 times in 32 games played in his career and has seen action in 1,690 offensive snaps with 134.5 total knockdowns.

After spending his first two seasons at guard, Collins took over as starting left tackle in 2013, and he served as an anchor for an LSU offense that set a school record with 37 rushing touchdowns last season. He finished the season with 65 knockdowns in 808 snaps on the way to earning Second Team All-SEC recognition.

Another versatile player, Alexander shifted from right tackle as a freshman to starting left guard as a sophomore in 2013. Excelling in both run blocking and pass protection, Alexander has started 22 times in 26 career games and has piled up 120.5 knockdowns in 1,466 offensive snaps in his first two seasons.

A native of Buford, Georgia, Alexander led LSU in total snaps played at 810 and knockdowns with 71 in the 2013 season. He helped pave the way for Jeremy Hill’s 216 rushing yards in the Outback Bowl win against Iowa when Alexander established a career high with 13 knockdowns against the Hawkeyes.

The Southeastern Conference dominated the Outland Trophy Watch List with 19 players, at least eight more prospects than any of the other conferences represented on the 64-man list.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 26-man first team and eventually the Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

Semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 20, and four days later the three finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner will be announced on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 11.

2014 Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List

Position, Name, School
OG Vadal Alexander, LSU
C Jack Allen, Michigan State
DL Henry Anderson, Stanford
C David Andrews, Georgia
DT Michael Bennett, Ohio State
C Evan Boehm, Missouri
C Jake Brendel, UCLA
DT Malcom Brown, Texas
OG A.J. Cann, South Carolina
OT Le'Raven Clark, Texas Tech
OT La'el Collins, LSU
OT Jack Conklin, Michigan State
DT Christian Covington, Rice
DT Carl Davis, Iowa
DT Sheldon Day, Notre Dame
C Reese Dismukes, Auburn
OT Jamil Douglas, Arizona State
OT Spencer Drango, Baylor
OT Cameron Erving, Florida State
C Dominic Espinosa, Texas
C B.J. Finney, Kansas State
OT Jake Fisher, Oregon
C Hroniss Grasu, Oregon
OT Rob Havenstein, Wisconsin
OT Sean Hickey, Syracuse
OT D.J. Humphries, Florida
DT Chucky Hunter, TCU
OT Germain Ifedi, Texas A&M
OG Tre' Jackson, Florida State
DT Grady Jarrett, Clemson
OG Kaleb Johnson, Rutgers
OT Tyler Johnstone, Oregon
C Ryan Kelly, Alabama
OG Arie Kouandjio, Alabama
OG Alex Kozan, Auburn
OT Eric Lefeld, Cincinnati
OG Cyril Lemon, North Texas
DT Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech
OG Shaquille Mason, Georgia Tech
OG Josue Matias, Florida State
C Mike Matthews Texas, A&M
DT Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
OT Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M
OT Andrus Peat, Stanford
DL A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama
OT Corey Robinson, South Carolina
OT Brandon Scherff, Iowa
C Isaac Seumalo, Oregon State
OT Brandon Shell, South Carolina
DT Danny Shelton, Washington
OT Donovan Smith, Penn State
C Jake Smith, Louisville
OG Quinton Spain, West Virginia
OG Laken Tomlinson, Duke
C Max Tuerk, USC
OT Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss
C Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern
OG Cody Whitehair, Kansas State
OG Cody Wichmann, Fresno State
OT Daryl Williams, Oklahoma
DL Leonard Williams, USC
OG Torrian Wilson, UCF
DT Gabe Wright, Auburn
OT Michael Yeck, BYU

National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) Preseason Watch List Calendar
July 10 – Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
July 11 – Jim Thorpe Award
July 14 – Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
July 15 – Biletnikoff Award
July 16 – Davey O’Brien Award
July 17 – Doak Walker Award
July 18 – Walter Camp Award





This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Cannon on Goal-Line Stand vs. Ole Miss
May. 21
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11