Football's White on Thorpe Award Watch List

LSU's Tre'Davious White
LSU's Tre'Davious White
Kyle Zedaker
Jake Terry (@LSUjake)
Jake Terry (@LSUjake)
Associate SID

BATON ROUGE – LSU sophomore cornerback Tre'Davious White is one of 39 players selected to the 2014 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame announced Friday.

The award is presented annually to the best defensive back in college football.

White is hoping to become the third LSU player to win the award, joining Patrick Peterson in 2010 and Morris Claiborne in 2011.

White started 11 games as a true freshman in 2013, earning Freshman All-SEC and third-team Freshman All-America honors.

He recorded 55 tackles, 2.5 tackles for a loss and two interceptions a year ago, and he led the Tigers with seven pass breakups. His interceptions came in victories at Mississippi State and against Iowa in the Outback Bowl.

Regarded as one of the nation's top prep cornerbacks coming out of high school, White made an immediate impact in his first season at LSU. In his first start against Kent State, he made four tackles, forced a fumble and added a tackle for a loss.

The watch list will be whittled down to three finalists late in the season, and the Thorpe Award winner will be announced Dec. 11 on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards show.

2014 Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List

Name, School, Class
Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee State, Jr.
Bryce Callahan, Rice, Sr.
Ibraheim Campbell, Northwestern, Sr.
Sam Carter, TCU, Sr.
Jeremy Cash, Duke, Jr.
Donald Celiscar, Western Michigan, Sr.
Landon Collins, Alabama, Jr.
Blake Countess, Michigan, Jr.
Su'a Cravens, USC, So.
Donte Deayon, Boise State, Jr.
Quandre Diggs, Texas, Sr.
Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, Jr.
Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State, Sr.
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, Sr.
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, So.
Clayton Geathers, UCF, Sr.
Jacoby Glenn, UCF, So.
Vernon Hargreaves, Florida, So.
Anthony Harris, Virginia, Sr.
Rocky Hayes, Arkansas State, Jr.
Jeremy Ioane, Boise State, Sr.
Jordan Lucas, Penn State, Jr.
Marcus Peters, Washington, Jr.
Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, Sr.
Jalen Ramsey, Florida State, So.
Jordan Richards, Stanford, Sr.
Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, So.
Derron Smith, Fresno State, Sr.
D'Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
Trevon Stewart, Houston, Jr.
Brian Suite, Utah State, Sr.
Cam Thomas, WKU, Sr.
Triston Wade, UTSA, Sr.
Ryland Ward, Bowling Green, Jr.
Trae Waynes, Michigan State, Jr.
Tre'Davious White, LSU, So.
J.J. Whittaker, San Diego State, Sr.
PJ Williams, Florida State, Jr.
Sterling Young, Arkansas State, Sr.

National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) Preseason Watch List Calendar
July 11 – Jim Thorpe Award
July 14 – Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
July 15 – Biletnikoff Award
July 16 – Davey O'Brien Award
July 17 – Doak Walker Award
July 18 – Walter Camp Award





This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Cannon on Goal-Line Stand vs. Ole Miss
May. 21
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11