Miles Named Walter Camp Coach of the Year

Les Miles is the second LSU coach (Jerry Stovall, 1982) to earn the honor.
Les Miles is the second LSU coach (Jerry Stovall, 1982) to earn the honor. (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive


NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Les Miles, head coach of the undefeated and BCS National Championship Game-bound LSU Tigers, has been named the Walter Camp 2011 Coach of the Year.

The Walter Camp Coach of the Year is selected by the nation's 120 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

Miles is the second LSU coach (Jerry Stovall, 1982) to earn the honor.

Under Miles' direction, the top-ranked and SEC-champion Tigers (13-0) will meet conference-rival Alabama (11-1) on January 9 in the BCS Bowl Championship Game in New Orleans. It is the Tigers' first 13-0 record and the team has already secured a school-record eight victories over Top 25 opponents.

The Tigers lead the nation in turnover margin (+1.69), while ranking second in total defense (252.1 yards allowed per game), scoring defense (10.54 points allowed per game) and third in rushing defense (85.5 yards allowed per game). Two LSU defensive backs - junior Morris Claiborne and sophomore Tyrann Mathieu - have earned 2011 All-America accolades from the Walter Camp Foundation. LSU has also excelled on offense, scoring 38.5 points a game - 12th highest in the nation.

Miles recently earned the 2011 Home Depot and AP National Coach of the Year honors. In his seventh season as head coach of the Tigers, Miles is 75-17, including a 41-15 mark in SEC regular-season games. Miles is the only head coach in the history of the SEC to win at least 11 games five times during his first seven years in the league. Under Miles' watch, LSU has won two SEC titles and one national championship (2007). More impressively, 139 of his players have graduated during his tenure, including 104 earning SEC Academic Roll distinction

Miles came to LSU in 2005 after serving four seasons as head coach of Oklahoma State (28-21 record). In Stillwater, he directed the Cowboys to three bowl appearances and was named the Big 12 Conference Coach of the Year in 2002.

A native of Elyria, Ohio, Miles is a 1976 graduate of the University of Michigan and earned a B.A. in economics. At Michigan, Miles was a two-year varsity letterwinner. Miles and his wife Kathy have four children (Kathryn, Manny, Benjamin and Mary Grace). Miles started his coaching career at his alma mater Michigan (1980-81) before moving to Colorado (1982-86). He returned to Ann Arbor and served more eight seasons, helping the Wolverines win 71 games and making eight consecutive bowl appearances.

Coach Miles, members of the 2011 Walter Camp All-America team, and major award winners - Floyd Little (Distinguished American), Harry Carson (Man of the Year) and Chris Spielman (Alumni Award) - will be honored at the organization's national awards banquet on Saturday, January 14, 2012 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team. The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. Visit

Walter Camp Coach of the Year recipients

2011 - Les Miles, LSU
2010 - Chip Kelly, Oregon
2009 - Gary Patterson, TCU
2008 - Nick Saban, Alabama
2007 - Mark Mangino, Kansas
2006 - Greg Schiano, Rutgers
2005 - Joe Paterno, Penn State
2004 - Tommy Tuberville, Auburn
2003 - Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
2002 - Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
2001 - Ralph Friedgen, Maryland
2000 - Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
1999 - Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech
1998 - Bill Synder, Kansas State
1997 - Lloyd Carr, Michigan
1996 - Bruce Snyder, Arizona State
1995 - Gary Barnett, Northwestern
1994 - Joe Paterno, Penn State
1993 - Terry Bowden, Auburn
1992 - Gene Stallings, Alabama
1991 - Bobby Bowden, Florida State
1990 - Bobby Ross, Georgia Tech
1989 - Bill McCartney, Colorado
1988 - Don Nehlen, West Virginia
1987 - Dick MacPherson, Syracuse
1986 - Jimmy Johnson, Miami
1985 - Fisher DeBerry, Air Force
1984 - Joe Morrisson, South Carolina
1983 - Mike White, Illinois
1982 - Jerry Stovall, LSU
1981 - Jackie Sherrill, Pittsburgh
1980 - Vince Dooley, Georgia
1979 - John Mackovic, Wake Forest
1978 - Warren Powers, Missouri
1977 - Lou Holtz, Arkansas
1976 - Frank R. Burns, Rutgers
1975 - Frank Kush, Arizona State
1974 - Barry Switzer, Oklahoma
1973 - Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh
1972 - Joe Paterno, Penn State
1971 - Bob Devaney, Nebraska
1970 - Bob Blackman, Dartmouth
1969 - Bo Schembechler, Michigan
1968 - Woody Hayes, Ohio State
1967 - John Pont, Indiana





This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Cannon on Goal-Line Stand vs. Ole Miss
May. 21
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11