Georgia Sweeps Ole Miss for SEC Tennis Crown

The Georgia Bulldogs
The Georgia Bulldogs (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE -- The No. 1-ranked Georgia men’s tennis team won its seventh Southeastern Conference Tournament title Sunday afternoon as it defeated the No. 8-ranked Ole Miss Rebels, 4-0, in the tournament championship at the W.T. “Dub” Robinson Tennis Stadium.

The Bulldogs (26-0, 11-0 SEC) become the first team to win back-to-back titles since LSU did it in 1998 and 1999, which were head coach Jeff Brown’s first two years in leading the Tigers. The Bulldogs also won their second-straight regular season title this year. The loss drops the Rebels’ record to 22-4 record.

I can’t say enough about our guys during this tournament,” said Georgia head coach Manuel Diaz. “They were relentless. I think that best describes them over the course of the past two days, facing two tough tests against LSU and Ole Miss. The Rebels are so good and so deep, they are very competitive and they challenged us, but we just didn’t give anything away.”

Georgia senior Matic Omerzel was selected as the tournament MVP after he clinched the tournament title by defeating Robbye Poole of Ole Miss. The second-team All-SEC selection captured wins 100, 101 and 102 of his career during the tournament.

“This is really a great feeling,” Omerzel said. “I knew after our doubles win that I might be in the running for the MVP, but I had a very tough task ahead of me against Robbye, he had beaten me in the regular season. It was really a sweet moment to clinch. It is an unbelievable feeling to win the MVP as a senior in my last SEC tournament.”

The teams will take the next three weeks off before the NCAA tournament, which begins May 11th. The tournament selection show will be May 1st on ESPNews.

In doubles, the No. 19-ranked duo of Travis Helgeson and Omerzel gave the Bulldogs the advantage on court two by knocking off Jonas Berg and Matthias Wellermann, 8-5.

U.S. Open Junior Doubles Champions Jamie Hunt and Nate Schnugg clinched the doubles point by knocking off Poole and Jakob Klaeson, 8-3. The Bulldogs have won the doubles point 25 out of their 26 matches. Eric Claesson and Erling Tveit of Ole Miss led Georgia’s John Isner and Luis Flores, 7-6, before Georgia clinched.

In singles, Flores and Schnugg set Omerzel up for the clinch by capturing wins on courts three and five, respectively.

This tournament was the sixth time LSU has hosted the event. The next time the Tigers will play host is 2019. 

#1 Georgia 4, #2 Ole Miss 0
SEC Men’s Tennis Tournament
Championship Match
W.T. “Dub” Robinson Tennis Stadium
April 22, 2007 at Baton Rouge, La.

Singles competition:
1. #13 Erling Tveit (UM) led #1 John Isner (UGA), 7-6, 5-5, unfinished
2. #11 Travis Helgeson (UGA) led. #59 Eric Claesson (UM), 6-2, 3-6, 2-1, unfinished
3. #12 Luis Flores (UF) def. #98 Matthias Wellermann (UM), 6-4, 6-3
4. #41 Matic Omerzel (UGA) def. #35 Robbye Poole (UM), 6-4, 6-4
5. #89 Nate Schnugg (UGA) def. Kalle Norberg (UM), 6-3, 6-4
6. #101 Jamie Hunt (UGA) vs. Jonas Berg (UM), 6-2, 3-6

Doubles competition:
1. #27 Eric Claesson/Erling Tveit (UM) led #1 John Isner/Luis Flores (UGA), 7-6
2. #19 Travis Helgeson/Matic Omerzel (UGA) def. Jonas Berg/Matthias Wellermann (UM), 8-5
3. Jamie Hunt/Nate Schnugg (UGA) def. Robbye Poole/Jakob Klaeson (UM), 8-3 

Match notes:
Order of finish: Doubles (2, 3); Singles (5, 3, 4)



Men's Tennis
This Week in LSU Athletics - April 17-22
Apr. 17
Men's Tennis
This Week in LSU Athletics - April 10-15
Apr. 10
Men's Tennis
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - April 2-8
Apr. 9