Three Named To Coaches' SEC All-Freshman Team

Josh Growden, Devin White and Ed Alexander were named to the Coaches' SEC All-Freshman Team on Thursday
Josh Growden, Devin White and Ed Alexander were named to the Coaches' SEC All-Freshman Team on Thursday
LSU Athletics Creative Services
Clyde Verdin
Clyde Verdin
Associate SID

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – LSU nose tackle Ed Alexander, linebacker Devin White and punter Josh Growden were named to the 2016 SEC Coaches’ All-Freshman Team the league announced on Thursday.

Selections to the team are made at every position, as Alexander was one of five selections along the defensive line, White one of three linebackers and Growden being the lone punter selected.

Alexander played in all 10 games in his debut season on defense, recording 12 tackles with a half sack. He had a tackle in eight of the 10 games he featured in, having at least two in games against Auburn, Southern Miss, Ole Miss and Florida.

Another in a long line of Australian punters, Growden averaged 41.9 yards per punt on 51 punts this season, with nine punts of 50 or more yards and 20 being inside the 20-yard line. In the thrilling win over Mississippi State, Growden had two punts of 60 yards at 65 and 61 in being named the SEC Co-Special Teams Player of the Week in the process, as his longest of the season was a 68-yard punt against the Golden Eagles.

White saw action in all 11 games for LSU, recording 25 tackles, with 12 on the solo end and 13 assisted. He had two tackles for loss, forcing and recovering a fumble as well, recording a season-best six tackles against Southern Miss. White really made his mark on special teams where he recorded 10 tackles, the second most for any LSU player and only one of two to have double-figure tackles in the category, getting four against Arkansas.

LSU takes on the Louisville Cardinals on December 31 at 10 a.m. CT in the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida.


Isaac Nauta, Georgia

Jonah Williams, Alabama             
Jawaan Taylor, Florida   
Greg Little, Ole Miss      
Logan Stenberg, Kentucky

Erik McCoy, Texas A&M

Dimetrios Mason, Missouri
Van Jefferson, Ole Miss               
Jalen Hurts, Alabama

Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky
Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M

Jonathan Johnson, Missouri

Jabari Zuniga, Florida
Marlon Davidson, Auburn
Ed Alexander, LSU
McTelvin Agim, Arkansas*
Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State*       

Leo Lewis, Mississippi State
Devin White, LSU
De'Jon Harris, Arkansas

Javaris Davis, Auburn
Nigel Warrior, Tennessee
Ronnell Perkins, Missouri
Jaylon Jones, Ole Miss

Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
Josh Growden, LSU 
Jonathan Johnson, Missouri