Tickets Available for LSU Athletic Hall of Fame Gala

The LSU Athletic Hall of Fame Gala
The LSU Athletic Hall of Fame Gala (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE -- Three former LSU standouts and three former LSU coaches and administrators will be inducted into the LSU Athletic Hall of Fame at ceremonies to be held at the Pete Maravich Assembly Center on Tuesday, March 10.

Tickets are available for $50 each or $500 for a table of 10 by calling Tom Harlukowicz in the LSU Marketing Department at (225) 578-6659.  All orders must be placed by February 26.

New inductees to the LSU Athletic Hall of Fame are track and field sprinter Esther Jones, football defensive lineman Anthony “Booger” McFarland, softball pitcher Britni Sneed, athletic trainer Dr. Martin J. “Marty” Broussard, former football and track coach Bernie Moore and former basketball and baseball coach Harry Rabenhorst.  Broussard, Moore and Rabenhorst will be inducted posthumously.

Esther Jones is the most decorated athlete in the history of women’s track and field at LSU.  She was a 21-time All-American in the sport as a collegiate competitor and won the gold medal as a member of the United States 4x100-meter relay team at the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona.  She led LSU to four outdoor national championships and two indoor national titles from 1988-91.

Jones, a native of Milwaukee, won four individual national titles during her LSU career, taking top honors in the 100 meters, 200 meters and twice as a member of the 4x100-meter relay team.  She also claimed 10 individual Southeastern Conference championships.  Jones graduated from LSU in 1995.

Anthony “Booger” McFarland was a first-team All-American defensive lineman for the Tigers in 1998 and an All-Southeastern Conference choice that season as well.  He helped lead a resurgence of LSU football in the mid-1990s as a four-year starter on the defensive line from 1995-98.  In 1995 he was the SEC’s Freshman Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

A first round draft choice by the NFL’s Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 1999, the Winnsboro, La., native went on to have a successful professional career, playing eight seasons for Tampa Bay and two years for Indianapolis.  He helped lead the Buccaneers to a Super Bowl title in 2002 and then earned another Super Bowl ring with the Colts in 2006.  McFarland graduated from LSU in 1999.

Britni Sneed was one of the top softball pitchers in the country during her LSU career from 1999-2002.  A first team All-American selection in both her junior and senior seasons, and a second team All-American as a sophomore, she was a finalist for USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year in 2002. 

Sneed, a native of Houston, Texas, was named SEC Player of the Year in 2001 and was the SEC Pitcher of the Year in 2002 while earning SEC Tournament MVP honors in each of those seasons.  She was also a standout on the international stage, representing her country as a member of the USA National Team in 2001.  Sneed graduated from LSU in 2002.

Dr. Martin J. “Marty” Broussard was widely renowned as one of the top sports medicine specialists in the nation and impacted the lives of several generations of LSU student-athletes during his tenure as head athletic trainer at LSU from 1948 to 1993.  Known as “Doc Broussard” to the many LSU athletes who came under his watch, Broussard also was head athletic trainer at Florida and Texas A&M during his career and served his final years in the LSU athletic department as assistant to the athletic director from 1993 to 2001.

Broussard served as trainer for the 1955 Pan American Games and the 1960 US Olympic Games and was named Athletic Trainer of the Year by the Rockne Foundation in 1963.  He was inducted into the National Athletic Trainers Association Hall of Fame in 1978 and the Louisiana Athletic Trainers’ Hall of Fame in 1982.  Most recently, he has been selected for induction into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

As a student-athlete at LSU, Broussard lettered in baseball and track and field in the mid-1940s, winning the SEC broad jump title in 1944 and went on to play professional baseball. After receiving his B. S. in 1945 from LSU, he later earned his master's of science degree from LSU in 1960, followed by his doctorate in 1967.  In 1998 the LSU training room was named the Martin J. Broussard Center for Athletic Training.  Broussard died in 2003.

Bernie Moore was LSU’s head track coach from 1930-47 and head football coach from 1935-47.  He led the track team to its first national championship in 1933 and engineered a total of 12 SEC track titles in his 18 seasons as head coach.  He is the second-winningest coach in LSU football history with a record of 83-29-6 in his 13 seasons.  He led the gridiron Tigers to five bowl appearances and two SEC titles in 1935 and 1936.

Moore left LSU following the 1947 football season to become the commissioner of the SEC, a position he held until 1966.  He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1954 and the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame in 1963.  In 1971 LSU’s track stadium was named in his honor.  Moore died in 1967.

Harry Rabenhorst served two terms as head basketball coach and two terms as head baseball coach at LSU while also serving as an assistant football coach and assistant athletic director during his career.  His basketball coaching career was highlighted by a national championship in 1935, a Final Four appearance in 1953 and three SEC titles in 1935, 1953 and 1954.  His 29-year record as head coach of the basketball Tigers was 340-264 in stints from 1932-41 and 1945-57.

As head baseball coach from 1925-42 and 1946-56 for a total of 27 years, he led the Tigers to SEC titles in 1939 and 1946.  He was an assistant football coach from 1925-42 and an assistant athletic director from 1947-67, and served briefly as interim athletic director in 1968. He is a member of the Helms Athletic Hall of Fame and the Louisiana Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame. Rabenhorst died in 1972.





This Week in LSU Athletics - May 31-June 3
May. 29
This Week in LSU Athletics - May 16-18
May. 14
LSU Top Plays - May 7-12
May. 13