Augustus Repeats as Wade Trophy Winner; Named Kodak All-American

LSU's Seimone Augustus with her parents.
LSU's Seimone Augustus with her parents.
Steven Frischling (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BOSTON -- On Saturday morning, LSU senior guard Seimone Augustus was named to the 10-member WBCA Kodak All-America Basketball Team for the third-staight season. Moments later, she again won the State Farm Wade Trophy, honoring the best player in women's basketball.

Augustus became only the second player in the game's history to earn the award twice, joining Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980).

Augustus, who led the nation in scoring in 2006 (23.0 ppg.), is the NCAA's active leading scorer (2,688) and set an NCAA record for career double-figure scoring games (131).

She led the Lady Tigers to the Women's Final Four for the third-straight season, as LSU takes on Duke on Sunday night at 8:30 p.m. CT in Boston's TD Banknorth Garden.

"I'm happy to be up here (accepting the State Farm Wade Trophy)," Augustus said after being named the winner of the National Player of the Year. "We have been through a lot as a program this year with losing coach (Sue) Gunter and dealing with hurricane Katrina. It says a lot about our team's ability to stay focused 
"I also would like to thank my teammates and coaches for making me a better player day in and day out, and my parents, who have been there to support me throughout my career."

Members of the 2006 Kodak All-America team included Augustus, Duke's Monique Currie, Ohio State's Jessica Davenport, Georgia's Tasha Humphrey, North Carolina's Ivory Latta, Oklahoma's Courtney Paris, Tennessee's Candace Parker, Rutgers' Cappie Pondexter, Stanford's Candice Wiggins and Baylor's Sophia Young.

LSU's other Kodak All-America selections include Marie Ferdinand in 2001, now-head coach Pokey Chatman in 1991, Joyce Walker in 1984 and 1985, and Julie Gross in 1978.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 29th year is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002), Diana Taurasi (2003) and the only two-time recipient thus far, Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980).



Women's Basketball
LSU Top Plays - March 4-10
Mar. 11
Women's Basketball
Highlights - LSU vs. Tennessee WBB SEC
Mar. 7
Women's Basketball
Women's Basketball vs. Tennessee - Audio Replay
Mar. 7