LSU's Johnny Robinson is also the senior committee finalist for the 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame class.

Johnny Robinson Named 2018 Doak Walker Legend (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

DALLAS – The PwC SMU Athletic Forum has selected former LSU running back Johnny Robinson as the recipient of the 2018 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award. The award was created in 1998 to honor former running backs that excelled at the collegiate level and went on to distinguish themselves as leaders in their communities.

Robinson will accept his trophy at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet on Friday, February 8, 2019 in Dallas. Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor, the 2018 Doak Walker Award recipient, will also be honored at the banquet. Robinson joins an impressive list of past recipients: Johnny Majors (2017), Herschel Walker (2016), Barry Sanders (2015), Bo Jackson (2014), Floyd Little (2013), Jim Brown (2012), Tommy McDonald (2011), Jim Taylor (2010), Eric Dickerson and Craig James (2009), Calvin Hill (2008), Marcus Allen (2007), Walter Payton (2006), Jim Swink (2005), John David Crow (2004), Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis (2003), Earl Campbell (2002), Tony Dorsett (2001), Pete Dawkins (2000), Archie Griffin (1999), and Gale Sayers (1998).

Robinson was an all-state football, tennis and basketball player at University High School in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. He committed to LSU, where his father was the longtime tennis coach. An integral part of the backfield that led LSU to the 1958 national title, Robinson also won the SEC tennis championship in singles and the SEC doubles championship with his brother while at LSU.

Robinson was the first-round draft selection of the AFL’s Dallas Texans in 1960. He remained with the team for his entire career, staying with them when they moved to Kansas City to become the Chiefs. He was a six-time first team All-Pro selection and is one of only two players to lead both the AFL and NFL in interceptions.

In 1980, Robinson founded the Johnny Robinson Boy’s Home in Monroe, Louisiana. The home, which he still manages today, provides a versatile community-based alternative to traditional juvenile placement.

“Johnny Robinson’s football career is as impressive as any in the history of the sport and after football his passion to help young adults in his community is truly commendable,” said Scott Moore, PwC Greater Texas Managing Partner. “We’re proud to welcome Johnny to the distinguished list of PwC Doak Walker Legends Awards recipients.”

Doak Walker epitomized leadership, sportsmanship, and academic and athletic achievement during his outstanding career at SMU. Walker was a three-time All-America choice who won the Heisman Trophy as a junior in 1948, was a first round draft pick of the Detroit Lions, led the team to NFL championships in 1952 and 1953, and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

PwC Doak Walker Legends Award recipients are nominated by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, and then chosen by the Forum’s Board of Directors. For more information, visit




College Football Live at SEC Media Day - Ed Orgeron Interview
Jul. 15
SEC Media Day - Ed Orgeron on Podium
Jul. 15
2019 Football Spring Game - Highlights
Apr. 6