LSU Athletics Creative Services

Louis Named to Inaugural Cheryl Miller Award Watch List

Judy Willson
Judy Willson
Communications Associate

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award. Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top small forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.


LSU senior Raigyne Louis has been named to the preseason watch list for the Cheryl Miller Award. The native of Fort Lauderdale, Florida, is the defending SEC Defensive Player of the Year after a solid all-around performance in 2016-17. Louis (neé Moncrief) will open her senior season on a 16-game double-digit scoring streak and has scored 20 or more points in a game 15 times over her Lady Tigers career. She needs 32 assists to become the fifth LSU player to record 1,000 points, 500 rebounds, 200 steals and 275 assists in a career.


“Cheryl Miller was an unstoppable force on the court, legendarily scoring more than one hundred points in a single high school game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “At USC, Cheryl continued her dominance winning two NCAA Championships. When it comes to small forwards, no one has done it better and the young women recognized on this list should be honored to be associated with one of the game’s all-time greats.”


The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at


The winner of the 2018 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award.


“I’m so excited to see the Basketball Hall of Fame expanding their portfolio of awards and recognizing the best athletes in the women’s college game today,” said Cheryl Miller, a 1995 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “I’m honored to represent this award for small forwards and can’t wait to see these student-athletes take the court.”


For more information on the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award, visit



2018 Cheryl Miller Award Candidates

Hannah Cook, Alabama

Gabby Williams, Connecticut

Shakayla Thomas, Florida State

Jill Barta, Gonzaga

Amanda Cahill, Indiana

Bridget Carleton, Iowa State

Raigyne Louis, LSU

Erika Davenport, Marquette

Brianna Fraser, Maryland

Branndais Agee, Michigan State

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri

Liza Fruendt, Missouri State

Stephanie Mavunga, Ohio State

Maddie Manning, Oklahoma

Maria Jespersen, South Florida

Jaime Nared, Tennessee

Ariel Atkins, Texas

Kennedy Burke, UCLA

Teana Muldrow, West Virginia

Cayla McMorris, Wisconsin


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season*




Women's Basketball
Lady Tigers Have A Blast At 2018 SEC Media Day
Oct. 18
Women's Basketball
2018-19 WBB First Day of Practice
Sep. 26
Women's Basketball
In The Den: Shaeeta Williams
Sep. 17