LSU Athletics Creative Services

Key, Toliver, Clapp Named to Watch Lists

Brandon Berrio
Brandon Berrio
Assistant Communications Director

BATON ROUGE – LSU junior center Will Clapp has been named to the Outland Trophy Watch List, while junior linebacker Arden Key and junior cornerback Kevin Toliver II have been named to the Bronko Nagurski Watch List. 

The Outland Trophy, in its 72nd year, is awarded to the top interior lineman in the nation. Clapp, who is expected to take over at center for Tigers, is one of 19 centers on the watch list that features 81 total interior linemen.

Clapp was a part of an offense that broke multiple school records in 2016, including the single-game individual rushing records by Leonard Fournette and Derrius Guice along with the school record for total offense in an SEC game with 634 yards against Missouri.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the National Defensive Player of the Year. Key, who was also named to the Maxwell and Bednarik watch lists earlier this week, set the single-season sacks record a year ago with 12. The Atlanta, Georgia, native totaled three PBUs and recovered three fumbles in 2017.

Toliver is expected to continue his impressive play that was seen in all 12 games of the Jacksonville, Florida, native’s freshman year and seven games in 2016 before suffering an injury. In seven games a year ago, Toliver recorded 21 tackles, including 12 solo. Toliver was also named to the Bednarik Award Watch List earlier this week.

The winner of the 72nd Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced live on ESPN at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 7.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be held on Monday, Dec. 4 at the Charlotte Convention Center.

2017 NCFAA Awards Preseason Watch List Calendar
Monday, July 10: Bednarik Award – Arden Key and Kevin Toliver II / Maxwell Award – Arden Key and Derrius Guice
Tuesday, July 11: Rimington Trophy – Will Clapp
Thursday, July 13: Bronko Nagurski Trophy – Arden Key and Kevin Toliver II / Outland Trophy – Will Clapp
Friday, July 14: Jim Thorpe Award
Monday, July 17: Butkus Award / Paul Hornung Award
Tuesday, July 18: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy
Wednesday, July 19: Davey O’Brien Award
Thursday, July 20: Doak Walker Award
Friday, July 21: Walter Camp Award




This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Cannon on Goal-Line Stand vs. Ole Miss
May. 21
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11