Steve Franz

LSU Trio Named All-Louisiana, Lewis Player of the Year

Chase Wales
Chase Wales
Communications Student Assistant

BATON ROUGE --- The LSU women's tennis team had three players named to All-Louisiana teams and freshman Jade Lewis was named both Louisiana Player of the Year and Louisiana Freshman of the Year, the Louisiana Sports Writers Association announced Sunday.

Lewis and senior Joana Valle Costa were named first team All-Louisiana and junior Ryann Foster was named second team All-Louisiana.

This is the second year in a row that an LSU women's tennis player has earned Louisiana Freshman of the Year after Jessica Golovin won the award last season.

Lewis is fresh off of clinching a comeback 4-3 win over No. 40 Tulsa to send the Tigers to the final match of the Berkeley regional in the second round of the NCAA Tournament and owns a 16-6 dual record in her freshman season.

Lewis has ten wins against ranked opponents on court one and is currently ranked as the No. 11 singles player in the nation.

This is Valle Costa's third-straight season earning All-Louisiana honors and her second-straight season making first team All-Louisiana.

The No. 46-ranked Valle Costa owns a 13-6 dual singles record with four wins over ranked opponents and leads the team with 78 career active singles wins.

After winning Louisiana Newcomer of the Year last season, Foster was named second team All-Louisiana for the first time in her career. The No. 105-ranked Foster owns a 16-6 dual singles record with four wins over ranked opponents and leads the team with 27 overall singles wins this season dating back to the fall.

For more information on the LSU women's tennis program follow the Tigers on Twitter @lsuwten and @LSUJuliaSell, on Instagram @LSUWTen and on

2017 LSWA All-Louisiana Women's Tennis Teams

First Team
Name – School – Cl. – Hometown

Jade Lewis – LSU – Fr. – Hilton Head, S.C.
Elena Muller – Tulane – So. – Dallas, Texas
Petra Horakova – ULM – Sr. – Trnava, Slovakia
Ivone Alvaro – Tulane – Fr. – Albufeira, Portugal
Trang Dao – New Orleans – So. – Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Joana Valle Costa – LSU – Sr. – Lisbon, Portugal

Second Team
Name – School – Cl. – Hometown

Stefana Andrei – ULM – Jr. – Bucharest, Romania
Tiffany Mylonas – ULM – So. – Brussels, Belgium
Hannah Brett – McNeese – Jr. – Wokingham, Berkshire, U.K.
Ryann Foster – LSU – Jr. – Sunrise, Fla.
Jazmin Britos – Louisiana Tech – Sr. – Villarrica, Paraguay
Nadja Manjon – Louisiana Tech – Fr. – La Coruna, Spain

Honorable Mention: Madalina Grigoriu, ULM; Judit Castillo, Northwestern State; Claudette Gilhespie, New Orleans; Charlene Goreau, Xavier; Sara Andrade, LSU Alexandria.

Player of the Year: Jade Lewis, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Stefana Andrei, ULM
Freshman of the Year: Jade Lewis, LSU
Coach of the Year: Terrence De Jongh, ULM




Women's Tennis
This Week in LSU Athletics - June 1-4
May. 30
Women's Tennis
This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Women's Tennis
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11