Football Ranked No. 13 in Preseason Coaches Poll

LSU kicks off 2014 on Aug. 30 in Houston against No. 14 Wisconsin.
LSU kicks off 2014 on Aug. 30 in Houston against No. 14 Wisconsin.
Steve Franz (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE - For the second-straight season, the LSU football team was ranked No. 13 in the newly named Amway Coaches Poll, it was announced Thursday.

The Tigers have appeared in the annual preseason poll for 14-straight seasons including the past 10 under head coach Les Miles.

LSU's opponent in the Aug. 30 season opener - Wisconsin - was ranked just behind the Tigers at No. 14. Kickoff for the matchup in Houston's NRG Stadium is set for 8 p.m. CT on ESPN.

Five of LSU's 12 opponents in 2014 appear in the poll, while three more received votes.

Tickets to six home games remain available for as little as $15.

About The Amway Coaches Poll

The Amway Coaches Poll is conducted weekly throughout the regular season using a panel of head coaches at FBS schools. The panel is chosen by random draw, conference by conference plus independents, from a pool of coaches who have indicated to the American Football Coaches Association their willingness to participate. Each coach submits a Top 25 with a first-place vote worth 25 points, second place 24, and so on down to one point for 25th.

2014 Amway Coaches Preseason Poll

Rank Team 2013 Record Points (First-Place Votes)
1. Florida State 14-0 1543 (56)
2. Alabama 11-2 1455
3. Oklahoma 11-2 1382 (3)
4. Oregon 11-2 1314 (1)
5. Auburn 12-2 1271
6. Ohio State 12-2 1267 (1)
7. UCLA 10-3 1085
8. Michigan State 13-1 1050
9. South Carolina 11-2 1009 (1)
10. Baylor 11-2 965
11. Stanford 11-3 955
12. Georgia 8-5 905
13. LSU 10-3 833
14. Wisconsin 9-4 654
15. USC 10-4 627
16. Clemson 11-2 535
17. Notre Dame 9-4 509
18. Arizona State 10-4 358
19. Ole Miss 8-5 346
20. Texas A&M 9-4 266
21. Kansas State 8-5 257
22. Nebraska 9-4 228
23. North Carolina 7-6 175
24. Texas 8-5 143
25. Washington 9-4 142

Others Receiving Votes
Missouri 126; Florida 122; Central Florida 102; Mississippi State 74; Oklahoma State 56; TCU 54; Michigan 53; Iowa 49; Miami (Fla.) 45; Duke 41; Louisville 32; Marshall 27; Brigham Young 18; Boise State 13; Louisiana-Lafayette 12; Virginia Tech 12; Texas Tech 8; Minnesota 6; Cincinnati 6; Northwestern 5; Oregon State 4; Fresno State 4; GeorgiaTech 2; Houston 2; Arkansas 1; Arizona 1; Northern Illinois 1.

List of Voters
The Amway Board of Coaches is made up of 62 head coaches at Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association. The board for the 2014 season: Blake Anderson, Arkansas State; Dino Babers, Bowling Green; David Bailiff, Rice; Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech; Todd Berry, Louisiana-Monroe; Bret Bielema, Arkansas; Larry Blakeney, Troy; Bill Blankenship, Tulsa; Craig Bohl, Wyoming; Terry Bowden, Akron; Art Briles, Baylor; Troy Calhoun, Air Force; Matt Campbell, Toledo; Rod Carey, Northern Illinois; Norm Chow, Hawaii; Larry Coker, Texas-San Antonio; David Cutcliffe, Duke; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State; Bob Diaco, Connecticut; Larry Fedora, North Carolina; Jimbo Fisher, Florida State; Dennis Franchione, Texas State; Justin Fuente, Memphis; Al Golden, Miami (Fla.); Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State; Bobby Hauck, UNLV; Brady Hoke, Michigan; Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech; Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Jerry Kill, Minnesota; Mike Leach, Washington State; Rocky Long, San Diego State; Mike MacIntyre, Colorado; Dan McCarney, North Texas; Bronco Mendenhall, Brigham Young; Urban Meyer, Ohio State; Les Miles, LSU; Todd Monken, Southern Mississippi; Ken Niumatalolo, Navy; George O'Leary, Central Florida; Gary Patterson, TCU; Bo Pelini, Nebraska; Chris Petersen, Washington; Gary Pinkel, Missouri; Jeff Quinn, Buffalo; Matt Rhule, Temple; Mark Richt, Georgia; Mike Riley, Oregon State; Rich Rodriguez, Arizona; Nick Saban, Alabama; Steve Sarkisian, USC; Frank Solich, Ohio; Steve Spurrier, South Carolina; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee; Bob Stoops, Oklahoma; Charlie Strong, Texas; Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati; Ron Turner, Florida International; Kevin Wilson, Indiana. AFCA policy bars schools under major NCAA or conference sanctions from receiving votes.




This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Cannon on Goal-Line Stand vs. Ole Miss
May. 21
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11