Plaisance Named to Wade Trophy Watch List

LSU's Theresa Plaisance
LSU's Theresa Plaisance
Steve Franz
Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Associate SID

ATLANTA – LSU senior forward Theresa Plaisance is one of 25 players nationally who were named to the preseason watch list for the Wade Trophy, which is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Player of the Year, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced on Tuesday.

Plaisance, a New Orleans native, is the Southeastern Conference’s leading returning scorer after averaging 17.0 points per game as a junior. She is one of four SEC players on the watch list, joining Tennessee’s Meighan Simmons and Bashaara Graves and Kentucky’s DeNesha Stallworth.

Plaisance became LSU’s first SEC scoring champion since Seimone Augustus, who was also the program’s only Wade Trophy winner doing so in 2005 and 2006. Plaisance was arguably the nation’s most improved player as a junior, tallying double-figures in all but two games and registering eight double-doubles en route to LSU’s first Sweet 16 appearance since 2008.

Plaisance was the only player in the SEC to rank in the top 10 in scoring, rebounding (8.3 rpg), field goal percentage (43.7), free throw percentage (72.8) and blocks (2.5 bpg). A first-team All-SEC recipient, she heads into her senior campaign fourth in LSU history in blocked shots with 101.

Plaisance leads an LSU team poised for an even stronger finish in 2013-14. The Lady Tigers return three starters and officially open the season in the Sue Gunter Classic against Stephen F. Austin on Nov. 8 in the Maravich Center. The season-opener is also the first round of the WNIT.

Plaisance spent her summer with USA Basketball where she helped the Americans to a gold medal at the World University Games in Russia.

Now in its 37th year, The Wade Trophy is named in honor of the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. Regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball,” the award is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year by the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) and the WBCA.

2014 Wade Trophy Preseason Watch List
Player, Institution, Position, Year
Natalie Achonwa, Notre Dame, Forward, Senior
Rachel Banham, Minnesota, Guard, Junior
Brittany Boyd, California, Guard, Junior
Gennifer Brandon, California, Forward, Senior
Jerica Coley, FIU, Guard, Senior
Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut, Center, Senior
Aaryn Ellenberg, Oklahoma, Guard, Senior
Bashaara Graves, Tennessee, Forward, Sophomore
Chelsea Gray, Duke, Guard, Senior
Bria Hartley, Connecticut, Guard, Senior
Jordan Hooper, Nebraska, Forward, Senior
Maggie Lucas, Penn State, Guard, Senior
Tyaunna Marshall, Georgia Tech, Guard, Senior
Kayla McBride, Notre Dame, Guard, Senior
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Connecticut, Forward, Junior
Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford, Forward, Senior
Theresa Plaisance, LSU, Forward, Senior
Ebony Rowe, Middle Tennessee, Forward, Senior
Shoni Schimmel, Louisville, Guard, Senior
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee, Guard, Senior
Odyssey Sims, Baylor, Guard, Senior
DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky, Forward, Senior
Breanna Stewart, Connecticut, Forward, Sophomore
Alyssa Thomas, Maryland, Forward, Senior
Elizabeth Williams, Duke, Center/Forward, Junior





Women's Basketball
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11
Women's Basketball
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - March 13-18
Mar. 19
Women's Basketball
This Week in LSU Athletics - March 19-25
Mar. 19