Sixty-One Named to SEC Spring Honor Roll

LSU's Laura Carleton (right)
LSU's Laura Carleton (right)
Steve Franz
Seth Landry
Seth Landry

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – LSU had 61 student-athletes named to the 2013 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll released Tuesday by the league office.

The men’s and women’s track and field programs placed a combined 25 student-athletes on the list. Laura Carleton, also a CoSIDA First-Team Academic All-America selection, became the first Lady Tiger in program history to be crowned the SEC champion in a distance over a mile with her win in the 5,000 meters at the SEC Indoor Track & Field Championships.

The baseball team garnered 13 honor roll selections which included All-SEC First-Team standouts Mason Katz and Raph Rhymes. Katz won the team’s triple crown with a .370 batting average, 16 home runs and 70 RBIs as the Tigers claimed the SEC Tournament Championship and returned to the College World Series.  

The softball program was well represented on the honor roll with seven members of their own sparked by A.J. Andrews, who finished the 2013 campaign with a team-leading .359 batting average while being named to the NFCA All-America Third Team.

Seven golfers between the men’s and women’s teams were also named to the honor roll. Curtis Thompson, an All-SEC First-Team pick, finished the season as the No. 49-ranked player in the country in the final Golfweek Individual Player Rankings.

Nine men’s and women’s tennis student-athletes made the respected list. Stefan Szacinski the Tigers secured a spot in the second round of the NCAA Tournament for the third straight year. He picked up eight consecutive singles victories at one point during the season and notched five wins over ranked opponents. Kaitlin Burns served as co-captain of the women’s team and claimed 14 singles victories in her senior season.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution's NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll.

Below is a complete list of SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll recipients.

Baseball (13)
Kevin Berry, Sport Administration
Brent Bonvillain, Interdisciplinary Studies
Joey Bourgeois, Interdisciplinary Studies
Chris Cotton, International Trade and Finance
Nate Fury, Sport Administration
Mason Katz, Sport Administration
Will LaMarche, Sport Administration
Kurt McCune, Sport Administration
Sean McMullen, Kinesiology
Raph Rhymes, Sport Administration
Nick Rumbelow, Interdisciplinary Studies
Chris Sciambra, Construction Management
Casey Yocom, Sport Administration

Men’s Golf (4)
Smylie Kaufman, Marketing
Myles Lewis, Management
Landon Lyons, Sport Administration
Curtis Thompson, Management              

Women’s Golf (3)
Lindsay Gahm, Marketing
Ali Lucas, Interdisciplinary Studies
Madelene Sagstrom, Mass Communication

Men’s Tennis (5)
Roger Anderson, Sport Administration
Olivier Borsos, Psychology
Mark Bowtell, Sport Administration
Will Suk, Agriculture
Stefan Szacinski, International Trade and Finance

Women’s Tennis (4)
Kaitlin Burns- Mass Communication
Keri Frankenberger- Sport Administration
Ariel Morton- Interdisciplinary Studies
Ebie Wilson- Kinesiology

Softball (7)
A.J. Andrews, Sport Administration                        
Jacee Blades, Kinesiology
Alex Boulet, Mathematics
Ashley Czechner, Biological Science
Allison Falcon, Biological Science
Simone Heyward, Sociology
Dylan Supak, Kinesiology

Men’s Track and Field (11)
Joseph Caraway, Kinesiology
Philip Dempsey, Biological Science
Andreas Duplantis, Kinesiology
Ben Guarisco, Forestry
Phillip LeBlanc, Kinesiology
Barrett Miller, Finance
Bryan Mutell, Economics
Daniel Obioha, Kinesiology
Travis Pope, History
Philip Primeaux, Mechanical Engineering
Trevor Sansone, Accounting

Women’s Track & Field (14)
Andria Aguilar, International Studies
Laura Aleman, Kinesiology
Brianne Bergeron, Kinesiology
Laura Carleton, MBA
Karen Henning, Kinesiology
Siedda Herbert, Sport Administration
Denise Hinton, Kinesiology
Michelle Mobley, Marketing
Leigh-Ann Naccari, Biological Science
Lynnika Pitts, Kinesiology
Montenae Roye-Speight, Political Science
Lacey Sanchez, English
Annie Simoneaux, Kinesiology
Jasmin Stowers, Nutrition and Food Science

SEC Academic Honor Roll criteria:

(1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution.

(2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll.

(3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons.

(4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution.

(5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport's entire NCAA Championship segment.





Classroom & Community
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11
Classroom & Community
Look Back: 'The Tribute' Winter 2017
Dec. 15
Classroom & Community
Basketball Shopping Spree for Kids
Dec. 15