Three Tigers Among Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalists

LSU's Mason Katz (8) and Aaron Nola (10)
LSU's Mason Katz (8) and Aaron Nola (10)
Hilary Scheinuk
Bill Franques
Bill Franques
Communications Sr. Associate

DALLAS – LSU first baseman Mason Katz, pitcher Aaron Nola and shortstop Alex Bregman appear on the list of semifinalists for the 2013 Dick Howser Trophy.

The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released the list for the award, which is presented by Easton Foundations. The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

This is the 27th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 6.  The 2013 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the third year.  The winner will be unveiled on Saturday, June 15 at 10 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2013 CWS.

Katz, a senior from Harahan, La., is hitting .385 this season with 14 homers, and he leads the Southeastern Conference in RBI with 64. Nola, a sophomore from Baton Rouge, La., is 10-0 with a 1.94 ERA, and he has recorded 105 strikeouts in 102 innings. Bregman, a freshman from Albuquerque, N.M., is hitting .392 with five homers and 49 RBI, and he leads the SEC in base hits (94) and triples (7).

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.  Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the Tampa Bay Rays. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

LSU first baseman Eddy Furniss won the Howser Trophy in 1998. The other winners of the award are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010; Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011 and Mike Zunino, C, Florida in 2012.





Baseball vs. New Orleans - Highlights
Feb. 21
This Week in LSU Athletics - Feb. 20-25
Feb. 20
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - Feb. 14-18
Feb. 19