Men's Basketball
LSU signee Jarell Martin (center) with his high school coach, Jeff Jones, and LSU's Johnny Jones.
Photo by:, LSU Athletics Publications
Signee Martin Earns LABC Player of the Year Award
Text smallerText larger
Published: May 04, 2013, 11:09 PM (CT)
Updated: May 07, 2013, 01:41 PM (CT)
by Kent Lowe (@LSUkent), Sr. Associate SID

BATON ROUGE – LSU men’s basketball signee Jarell Martin was honored Saturday night as part of the 39th annual Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches Awards Banquet at the Embassy Suites Hotel.

Martin was named the outstanding player in Class B for his efforts for Madison Prep in leading them to the state championship this year. His high school coach, Jeff Jones, was also honored as the Class B Coach of the Year.

LSU men’s basketball coach Johnny Jones was on hand to make the presentation.

One of the top honors of the evening, the prestigious Mr. Basketball Award was for only the second time in history presented to a sports information director, the recently retired SID at McNeese State, Louis Bonnette.

Bonnette, who served at McNeese for 46 years, was given the award which is presently annually to someone who has made a significant, long-term contribution to the game of basketball at any level in the State of Louisiana.

Bonnette’s two sons continue the Bonnette legacy in the state of Louisiana with older son Michael serving as Associate AD and SID at LSU, with younger son Matthew having taken over just year for his father at McNeese State.

Here is the complete list of 2013 LABC Honorees:

Louisiana Basketball Hall of Fame Inductee:  Jeff Cummings, Tulane
Mr. Louisiana Basketball:  Louis Bonnette, McNeese St.
Bob Pettit Award for the Louisiana Professional Player of the Year:  Paul Millsap, Utah Jazz
Pete Maravich Memorial Award for the Louisiana Major College Player of the Year:  Derick Beltran, Southern
Tommy Joe Eagles Memorial Award for the Louisiana Major College Coach of the Year:  Roman Banks, Southern
Louisiana Small College Player of the Year:  Brandon Davis, LSU-Shreveport
Louisiana Small College Coach of the Year:  Kyle Blankenship, LSU-Shreveport
Louisiana Junior College Player of the Year:  Jeffrey Walker, Baton Rouge
Louisiana Junior College Coach of the Year:  Ricky Wilson, Baton Rouge

Louisiana High School Players of the Year:
Class AAAAA:  Damian Jones, Scotlandville
Class AAAA:  Trey Touchet, St. Thomas More
Class AAA:  Xairius Larry, Farmerville
Class AA:  Von Julien, Riverside
Class A:  Scott Plaisance, Metairie Park Country Day
Class B:  Jarell Martin, Madison Prep
Class C:  Zikiteran Woodley, Pelican

Louisiana High School Coaches of the Year:
Class AAAAA:  Carlos Sample, Scotlandville
Class AAAA:  Devan Clark, Northside
Class AAA:  Johnny Simmons, Farmerville
Class AA:  Byron King, Winnfield
Class A:  Mike McGuire, Metairie Park Country Day
Class B:  Jeff Jones, Madison Prep
Class C:  Richard Simmons, Pelican


ICA LSU Digital Magazine - Nov. 2015
Visit Baton Rouge
Flores MBA Program
Circle K
Kean Miller
Ford Football Gear