Simpson Invited to NCAA Singles Draw

LSU's Chris Simpson
LSU's Chris Simpson
Hilary Scheinuk
Palmer Black
Palmer Black

INDIANAPOLIS – LSU tennis sophomore Chris Simpson has been selected to participate in the 2013 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex/Atkins Tennis Center in Urbana, Ill., the NCAA Men’s Tennis Subcommittee announced Wednesday. The University of Illinois, Champaign will serve as host.
Simpson, along with the 63 other players that were selected, will compete in the singles competition May 22-27 at the conclusion of the team championship, which runs from May 16-21. This will be the England native’s first appearance at the NCAA Singles Championships.
All matches will be the best of three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games all will be used for all matches.
Automatic qualification into the Division I singles championship is awarded to any conference with one or more eligible singles players ranked in the ITA Top 125. For conferences with more than one singles player within the ITA Top 125 eligible/entered singles players, the subcommittee applies the NCAA selection criteria to determine which student-athlete is the automatic qualifier from those conferences. All singles players must have a minimum of 13 completed singles matches in order to be selected as an automatic qualifier or an at-large selection.
Simpson, currently ranked No. 48 in singles, was picked as an at-large selection. The automatic qualifier for the SEC is No. 2 Mikelis Libietis of No. 6 Tennessee, the SEC Player of the Year. Of the 45 at-large selections, 17 of them are from the SEC, including Simpson.
The 2013 All-SEC Second Team member is currently 11-12 in singles during the dual match season. Playing on Courts 1 and 2, Simpson has taken down eight ranked opponents including a dramatic three-set match-clincher over then-No. 3 Libietis of Tennessee.
For up-to-date information and behind the scenes access on the Tigers, fans can follow the LSU men's team on Twitter @lsutennis, and follow head coach Jeff Brown @LSUCoachJBrown and on Facebook at
NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships – Singles
Automatic qualifications (19), listed alphabetically by conference:
Atlantic Coast Alex Domijan Virginia
Atlantic 10 Max Wennakoski Virginia Commonwealth
Big East Greg Andrews Notre Dame
Big Sky Marek Marksoo Sacramento State
Big Ten Peter Kobelt Ohio State
Big 12 Costin Paval Oklahoma
Big West Andre Dome Cal Poly
Colonial Rafael Aita North Carolina-Wilmington
Conference USA Japie De Klerk Tulsa
Ivy League Matija Pecotic Princeton
Missouri Valley Anis Ghorbel Drake
Mountain West Andrew Bettles Boise State
Pacific-12 Emilio Gomez Southern California
SEC Mikelis Libietis Tennessee
Southern Cameron Silverman Elon
Southland Peter Nagy Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Sun Belt Victor Valente Georgia State
West Coast Sebastian Fanselow Pepperdine
WAC Enej Bonin Denver
At-large selections (45), listed alphabetically by last name:
Gonzales Austin Vanderbilt
Romain Bogaerts Mississippi State
Rok Bonin Minnesota
Jarryd Botha Alabama
Henrique Cunha Duke
Jeremy Efferding Texas A&M
Mitchell Frank Virginia
Marcos Giron UCLA
Yannick Hanfmann Southern California
Esben Hess-Olesen North Carolina
Soren Hess-Olesen Texas
Jared Hiltzik Illinois
Jarmere Jenkins Virginia
Tom Jomby Kentucky
Patrick Kawka Brigham Young
Evan King Michigan
Julian Lenz Baylor
Ryan Lipman Vanderbilt
Jonas Lutjen Ole Miss
Yannick Maden Clemson
Clifford Marsland Tulsa
Ben McLachlan California
Kyle McMorrow Washington
Andreas Mies Auburn
Tsvetan Mihov South Carolina
John Morrissey Stanford
Dennis Novikov UCLA
Nathan Pasha Georgia
Stephane Piro Florida
Patrick Pradella Baylor
Adrien Puget UCLA
Roberto Quiroz Southern California
Michael Redlicki Duke
Hunter Reese Tennessee
Blaz Rola Ohio State
Anthony Rossi Kentucky
Fred Saba Duke
Ray Sarmiento Southern California
Nik Scholtz Ole Miss
Chris Simpson LSU
KU Singh Georgia
Juan Spir Georgia Tech
Malte Stropp Mississippi State
Mac Styslinger Virginia
Ben Wagland Georgia
Guillermo Alcorta Oklahoma
Campbell Johnson California
Amerigo Contini Virginia Tech
Alex Sarkissian Pepperdine
Dane Webb Oklahoma
Sebastian Stiefelmeyer Louisville
Marko Krickovic Baylor
Ryan Shane Virginia
Harrison Richmond Virginia





Men's Tennis
This Week in LSU Athletics - April 17-22
Apr. 17
Men's Tennis
This Week in LSU Athletics - April 10-15
Apr. 10
Men's Tennis
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - April 2-8
Apr. 9