Carleton Named Louisiana XC Runner of the Year

LSU's Laura Carleton
LSU's Laura Carleton
Chris Parent (@chrisparent) (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

LAKE CHARLES, La. -- LSU senior Laura Carleton has been named the 2012 Louisiana Sports Writers Association's female runner of the year.

The native of Lake Charles, was the leader of a Lady Tiger squad that finished in the Top 10 of every meet in which they competed, including first place finishes at the McNeese Cowboy Stampede and the LSU Invitational. In each of the races, Carleton was the frontrunner for the Lady Tigers while placing fifth at the Commodore Classic, first at the McNeese Cowboy Stampede and LSU Invitational, fourth at the Chile Pepper Festival, 12th at the SEC Championships and 20th at the NCAA South Central Regional meet. She was named to the All-SEC second team and was an All-South Central Regional selection.

Jessica Stone, a senior on the New Orleans squad and a native of Shreveport, competed in her first collegiate season and was the top female finisher for the Privateers in three meets (Ragin' Cajun Invitational, Loyola Wolfpack Invitational, Cowboy Relays). Stone's 14th place finish at the Loyola Wolfpack (22:08) was on the second Top 20 finish since UNO reinstated cross country in 2011 and the highest for a Privateer in the same time period. She finished 33rd at the Wolfpack Invitational (24:01.37) which was UNO's top individual finisher. She began the season with, teaming with Soledad Arroyo for the best duo finish for the Privateers squad at the McNeese relays.

Louisiana-Lafayette's Anna Katherine Devitt was named the Freshman of the Year after leading the Ragin' Cajuns in every race. The native of Baton Rouge, Devitt recorded two 5K times of less than 20 minutes and was second away from a third 5K race under 20 minutes (20:01) at the McNeese Cowboy Stampede. She placed second in the Ragin' Cajun Invite in only her second collegiate meet (5K time of 19:18.9). Devitt let the Cajuns for the fifth time in as many outings at the Sun Belt Championships. She posted a season-best 5K time of 18:53.6 that landed her in 18th place. She was one of only 20 competitors out of 83 to finish under 20 minutes, missing all-conference honors by four seconds.

Xavier's Joseph Moses led the Gold Nuggets to their seventh consecutive team championship and a berth in the NAIA National Meet for the fourth time in five years. Moses was also named the GCAC Coach of the Year for the fourth straight year after leading his team to a 33-9 record prior to the national meet, including wins over Seton Hall. The women's team posted the GCAC's first perfect score at the league meet since 1996 with a team that broke Xavier's 5K and 6K records.

2012 LSWA All-Louisiana Women's Cross Country Team
Laura Carleton, LSU
Paige Callahan, Tulane
Tessni Carruthers, Nicholls
Anna Katherine Devitt, Louisiana-Lafayette
Zahri Jackson, Xavier
Fionnuala Ross, McNeese State
(Tie) Emmis Aguillard, Tulane
(Tie) Allison Crawford, McNeese

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Jessica Stone, New Orleans
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Anna Katherine Devitt, Louisiana-Lafayette
COACH OF THE YEAR: Joseph Moses, Xavier





Cross Country
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11
Cross Country
LSU Cross Country Invitational - Recap
Sep. 19
Cross Country
Help LSU Athletics 'Pack the Truck'
Sep. 13