LSU's Kenny Hillard (27) is tracked by Sam Montgomery at the Spring Game
Photo by:Hilary Scheinuk, LSU Athletics Student Photographer
Football Set to Report for Camp
Text smallerText larger
Published: July 28, 2012, 04:51 PM (CT)
by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette), Sr. Assoc. Athletic Director/SID

BATON ROUGE - The LSU football team reports to campus on Wednesday with its first practice scheduled for the following day as the Tigers begin their eighth season under head coach Les Miles.

The Tigers are expected to welcome 105 players to preseason camp Wednesday. Included in that group are 15 returning starters (6 offense, 6 defense, 3 special teams) and a total of 41 letterwinners from last year's team that posted a 13-1 overall mark and won the Southeastern Conference title.

Headlining the list of returning starters for the Tigers includes a trio of All-Americans in cornerback/return specialist Tyrann Mathieu, defensive end Sam Montgomery and punter Brad Wing.

LSU will have split squad practices for the first three days of camp with the varsity practicing in the morning followed by the freshmen/newcomers along with selected upperclassmen in the afternoon session. LSU will have its first full squad workout on Sunday, Aug. 5 with its first scrimmage scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 11.

LSU opens the 2012 season on Saturday, Sept. 1 at 6 p.m. in Tiger Stadium against North Texas in the first of three consecutive home night games for the Tigers. LSU hosts Washington at 6 p.m. on Sept. 8 followed by Idaho at 7 p.m. on Sept. 15. LSU's first road game comes on Sept. 22 at Auburn.

2012 LSU Preseason Camp - Practice and Key Dates

Wednesday, Aug. 1 Team Reports to Campus
Thursday, Aug. 2 Varsity practice (AM); Freshman/Selected Vets practice (PM)
Friday, Aug. 3 Varsity practice (AM); Freshman/Selected Vets practice (PM)
Saturday, Aug. 4 Varsity practice (AM); Freshman/Selected Vets practice (PM)
Sunday, Aug. 5 Practice - first full squad practice
Monday, Aug. 6 Practice
Tuesday, Aug. 7 LSU Football Media Day (3-6 p.m. at Football Ops)
Wednesday, Aug. 8 2 Practices
Thursday, Aug. 9 Practice
Friday, Aug. 10 2 Practices
Saturday, Aug. 11 Scrimmage; LSU Fan Day (3-6 p.m. at PMAC/Maddox Field House)
Sunday, Aug. 12 No practice
Monday, Aug. 13 2 Practices
Tuesday, Aug. 14 Practice
Wednesday, Aug. 15 Practice
Thursday, Aug. 16 Scrimmage
Friday, Aug. 17 No practice
Saturday, Aug. 18 Practice
Sunday, Aug. 19 Practice
Monday, Aug. 20 First Day of Classes; Practice
Tuesday, Aug. 21 Scrimmage
Wednesday, Aug. 22 No practice
Thursday, Aug. 23 Practice
Friday, Aug. 24 Practice
Saturday, Aug. 25 Practice
Sunday, Aug. 26 No practice
Monday, Aug. 27 North Texas Week; Les Miles Press Conference; Practice

 

ABC Insurance
Uploaded Ad
Flores MBA Program
The Cook Hotel and Conference Center
Visit Baton Rouge

2014 Outback Bowl
'14 Signing Day: Feb. 5Previous | History
'14 Spring Practice: March 8 - April 5 (Game)
'14 Coaches Clinic: March 27-29 | Register | Schedule
'14 Pro Day: April 9 | Scorecard & Live Show
'14 NFL Draft: May 8-10 | Previous | History 
'14 Recruiting Questionnaire
News | Archives
Schedule/Results
Rosters (Past and Present)
Coaching Staff
Game Notes
Statistics (1971-Present)
SEC Standings
Polls:
AP | Coaches | BCS | Harris
Archives: AP | Coaches | BCS