Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Show to Air on CST

LSU baseball star Dr. Eddy Furniss
LSU baseball star Dr. Eddy Furniss
Hilary Scheinuk
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Communications Sr. Associate

LSU's Dr. Eddy Furniss and former FB star Terry Robiskie featured on Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame telecast Thursday

NATCHITOCHES, La. - Two more of LSU's top sports stars, one in baseball and one in football, will be featured on Cox Sports Television's coverage of the 2012 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremonies Thursday night at 7 p.m. CDT.

The telecast, produced in association with Louisiana Sports Writers Association productions, will feature highlights from the induction ceremony held last month at the Natchitoches Events Center.

In all eight more of the state's top sports stars were inducted at this year's ceremony. Also inducted were football players Roger Carr, Warrick Dunn and Deuce McAllister; basketball legend Aaron James; football coach Pete Richardson; and jockey Mark Guidry.

Also during the event, LSWA members Bill Bumgarner formerly of the New Orleans Times Picayune and now with Sportsnola.com, and recently retired executive sports editor of The (Baton Rouge) Advocate, Butch Muir, received the Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism, while Dr. L. J. Mayeux, the former national president and Chairman of the Board for Ducks Unlimited, received the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports leadership Award.

Furniss is a 2010 inductee in the College Baseball Hall of Fame and was one of the top hitters in LSU and Southeastern Conference history during a four-year career from 1995-98. Furniss helped lead LSU to NCAA titles in 1996 and 1997, and received the 1998 Dick Howser Trophy as college baseball's most outstanding player.

Robiskie, a prolific prep athlete at Second Ward High School in Edgard, became the first running back in school history to rush for 1,000 yards in a season when he finished with 1,117 yards in 1976 (the year he was the Southeastern Conference MVP). He has been an assistant coach since 1982 in the NFL and is presently with the Atlanta Falcons.

This is the 10th consecutive year the event has been televised on a tape-delayed basis by Cox Sports Television and its more than two million homes. CST is currently carried on video distributors in Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi, Oklahoma and Virginia.

"The Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation is grateful to CST for providing highlights of the 2012 Hall of Fame induction," said Lisa Babin, President and CEO of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation. "It allows those who could not attend to enjoy this inspiring and entertaining event."

CST's Lyn Rollins and Tammi Arender return to host the ceremonies along with LSWA Past President Kent Lowe, who again produced the broadcast for the LSWA and looks back at memorable moments in past Hall of Fame broadcasts as well.

"The tie between the Louisiana Sports Writers Association and CST is something that is very important to all of us involved with this broadcast which started in 2003," said Lowe, currently the LSWA treasurer.  "CST's commitment to quality programs and their belief in what we are trying to do with the Hall of Fame makes our partnership on these telecasts very valuable indeed."

Following the debut telecast, the show will also air in July on the following dates:  July 14, 11 a.m.; July 16, 4 p.m.; July 19, 4 p.m.; July 21, 9 p.m.; July 22, 10:30 p.m.; July 26, 4 p.m.; July 28, 11 a.m.; July 30, 4 p.m.; July 31, 10 p.m. All air times are Central Daylight Time.

Highlighting the telecast will be speeches from all the inductees and presenters like former LSU baseball coach Skip Bertman and former Florida State Coach Bobby Bowden. 

For the 10th year, the presenting sponsor of the CST broadcast is the Louisiana agents of State Farm Insurance, a Hall of Fame champion partner. A record 63 Louisiana agents are participating this year to help sponsor the broadcasts.

For more information on the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, visit the organization's web site at www.lasportshall.com and information on CST can be found at www.coxsportstv.com. Information on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association is available at www.thelswa.com.





Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - June 1-4
May. 30
Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - May 15-20
May. 14