Joe Dean Elected to College Basketball Hall of Fame
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Communications Sr. Associate

BATON ROUGE - LSU player, LSU Athletic Director, Converse shoe salesman and longtime television analyst Joe Dean Sr. was announced Tuesday as one of the class of 10 stars and contributors of the game of basketball who will be inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame in Kansas City.

Dean will be inducted on Sunday, Nov. 18, at the Midland Theatre in Kansas City as part of a three-day celebration of college basketball. The hall of fame is located in the College Basketball Experience, a world-class entertainment facility that provides a multi-faceted interactive experience for the fans of the game. On Nov. 19-20, four teams will compete in the CBE Classic.

Few men have influenced the game of basketball as diversely as Dean. The New Albany, Ind., native was a three-time All-SEC (1950-52) player at LSU and was drafted by the Indianapolis Olympians. He was an alternate on the 1956 U.S. Olympic team and played on the first U.S. team to tour Russia.

Dean not only loved the game of basketball, but had a unique talent of sharing that passion. As a promotions and marketing executive with the Converse Rubber Company, from 1959-87, he was an advocate not only for the Converse products but promoting the game wherever he travels. Dean signed promotional contracts with the top coaches nationally, with numerous hall of fame players and was a highly sought speaker and clinician.

One of his most famous basketball teaching events, the Dixie Basketball Camp that he started just outside Baton Rouge in 1966, continues today as one of the oldest and most popular summer camps in America at Southwest Mississippi Community College in Summitt, Miss., now under the direction of his son, Birmingham Southern Athletic Director Joe Dean Jr.

Additionally, Joe Dean Sr. served alongside former Voice of the Tigers the late John Ferguson and later Tom Hammond as the analyst for SEC basketball, starting on TVS and including such networks as NBC, Lorimar, ESPN, Turner Sports and Jefferson Pilot/Raycom from 1969-1987. There he coined the legendary phrase "string music" to describe a jump shot that swished the net and is catch phrase was passed on to his son, Joe, Jr., who continues the Dean tradition on the SEC Network broadcasts of the league.

He served his alma mater beginning in 1987 for 14 years as director of athletics at LSU, serving as AD at LSU longer than any person in the history of the school. During his tenure as AD, the athletic department donated over $7 million to the academic side of the university and added over $50 million in facility improvements. LSU won 27 national championships and 40 SEC titles during Dean's tenure.

Dean is a member of the LSU Athletic Hall of Fame, the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame and the Indiana Hall of Fame.

Joining Dean in the class of 2012 are players Patrick Ewing of Georgetown University, Phil Ford of North Carolina, Kenny Sailors of the University of Wyoming, Clyde Lovellette of the University of Kansas, Earl Monroe, Winston-Salem State University, and, Willis Reed of Grambling State.

The two coaches elected are Dave Robbins of Virginia Union University and Joe B. Hall of Kentucky, while Jim Host of Host Communications joined Dean as inductees of the category of "contributors."

Dean becomes the third member of the Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame to have LSU playing ties, joining Bob Pettit and Pete Maravich.

"The Class of 2012 has incredible roots in the game of college basketball - from the player who introduced the jump shot at Wyoming to the domination of a 7-footer at Georgetown," said Reggie Minton, Deputy Executive Director of the NABC and chair of the Hall of Fame selection panel. "This group of coaches, players and contributors will no doubt bring back memories of national championships, all-American performances and the tremendous growth of the sport throughout the years."

The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame was founded by the National Association of Basketball Coaches Foundation, Inc., to honor and celebrate those who have made extraordinary contributions to the game of men's college basketball. Located at the College Basketball Experience in Kansas City, Mo., the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame inducted its first class in November, 2006.

Each year, a Blue Ribbon committee, composed of long-time coaches, administrators, former players, broadcasters and basketball writers selects a class of inductees including players, coaches and contributors. The Founding Class of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame includes all individuals who have been previously inducted for men's college basketball into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. For more information, go to





Men's Basketball
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11
Men's Basketball
Men's Basketball at Utah - Audio Replay
Mar. 19
Men's Basketball
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - March 13-18
Mar. 19