Members of the senior class
Photo by:Hilary Scheinuk, LSU Athletics Student Photographer
Football Hands Out Team Awards at Annual Banquet
Text smallerText larger
Published: December 13, 2011, 06:23 PM (CT)
by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette), Sr. Assoc. Athletic Director/SID

BATON ROUGE - All-American and Heisman Trophy finalist Tyrann Mathieu took home the Charles McClendon Award as LSU's most valuable player for the 2011 season, head coach Les Miles announced at the team's annual award banquet.

Mathieu, a sophomore from New Orleans, leads the Tigers in tackles and helped lead the Tigers to the school's first 13-0 start and a berth in the BCS National Championship Game next month in his hometown. Mathieu was also named one of five permanent team captains as voted on by the team. Mathieu was joined on the list of captains by quarterback Jordan Jefferson, offensive guard Will Blackwell, cornerback Morris Claiborne, and safety Brandon Taylor.

Blackwell and wide receiver Rueben Randle were named the recipients of the Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Player Award, while Claiborne and Taylor were named the Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Players.

Taylor DeBusk earned the Charles Coates Academic Award, while the Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award for contributions to the team with the least amount of recognition was given to quarterback Jarrett Lee, linebacker Ryan Baker, center/guard T-Bob Hebert and defensive tackle Bennie Logan.

The Special Team Coaches Award for outstanding play in the third facet of the game was given to punter Brad Wing, kickers Drew Alleman and James Hairston and snapper Joey Crappell, while Ron Brooks and Tahj Jones earned the Wild Tiger Championship Trophy for their play on LSU's coverage units. 

2011 LSU Football - Awards

Special Teams Coaches Award:
Brad Wing, Drew Alleman, James Hairston, Joey Crappell

Wild Tiger Championship Trophy (most special teams points):
Ron Brooks, Tahj Jones

Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award (contributions to the success of the team with least recognition):
T-Bob Hebert, Ryan Baker, Jarrett Lee, Bennie Logan

Dr. Charles E. Coates, Academic Award (student-athlete of the year):
Taylor DeBusk

Alvin Roy Award (excellence year-round in strength and conditioning program):
Brandon Taylor, James Stampley

Butch Duhe Award (outstanding character and contributions to the team): 
Mitch Joseph, DeAngelo Peterson, Barkevious Mingo, Eric Reid, Ken Adams

George M. Wallace Memorial Award (defensive leadership and performance):
Michael Brockers, Sam Montgomery

L-Club Permanent Team Captains (as voted on by team):
Offense: Jordan Jefferson, Will Blackwell
Defense: Morris Claiborne, Brandon Taylor
Special Teams: Tyrann Mathieu

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Player Award:
Rueben Randle, Will Blackwell

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Player Award:
Morris Claiborne, Brandon Taylor

Charles McClendon Most Valuable Player Award (as voted on by team):
Tyrann Mathieu


LA Dental
Flores MBA Program
Visit Baton Rouge
ICA LSU Digital Magazine

Spring 2015 Key Days:
- Feb. 4: National Signing Day | History
- Feb. 17-23: NFL Combine
- March 7 - April 18: Spring Practice
- March 19-20: Coaches' Clinic 
- March 27: LSU Pro Day | Look Back
- April 16: Student Appreciation Day | Look Back
- April 18: Spring Game | Look Back
- April 30 - May 2: NFL Draft | History
'15 Recruiting Questionnaire
News | Archives
Rosters (Past and Present)
Coaching Staff
Game Notes
Statistics (1965 - Present)
SEC Standings
AP | CoachesCFP | Harris
Archives: AP | Coaches | CFP/BCS Baseball Season