Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Tickets on Sale

LSU's Todd Walker (right) with Skip Bertman
LSU's Todd Walker (right) with Skip Bertman
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Communications Sr. Associate

NATCHITOCHES, La. - LSU fans have a chance to help honor one of their favorites, baseball star Todd Walker, and former athletic director T. P. Heard who are part of this year's 2011 class of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

Tiger fans can purchase induction dinner tickets and golf entries are now available online at the www.lasportshall.com website for the 2011 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction Celebration June 23-25.

Tickets and golf entries, along with congratulatory advertising for the commemorative program, can be ordered with secure credit card transactions through the website or by calling the Hall of Fame office at 318-238-4255.

The Induction Dinner and Ceremonies presented by Chesapeake Energy on Saturday evening, June 25, at the Natchitoches Events Center are the culmination of the 2011 Induction Celebration beginning Thursday evening, June 23, with the La Capitol/Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Kickoff Reception.

The Hall of Fame Pro-Am Celebrity Golf Scramble sponsored by Encana is Friday, June 24, at Oak Wing Golf Course in Alexandria.

New Orleans Saints stars Morten Andersen, Vaughan Johnson and Buford Jordan, along with Walker, the LSU All-American and 12-year major league baseball infielder, and high school football coaching great Don Shows , are among the eight 2011 inductees who will enter the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

NBA standout Donald "Slick" Watts, Louisiana-Lafayette softball All-America pitcher Kyla Hall Holas and innovative LSU AD Thomas P. "Skipper" Heard complete the Hall's 2011 induction class. Heard will be honored posthumously.

New Orleans native Elmo Adolph, a world-renowned boxing official, and Billy Montgomery, who as a highly-regarded state legislator championed sports causes including construction of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame museum, are the 2011 recipients of the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award.

Also honored will be two recipients of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association's Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism, New Orleans-based sportswriter Ron Brocato and longtime Southeastern Louisiana University sports information director Larry Hymel.

Tickets for the Induction Dinner and Ceremonies are $40. Golf entries are $150 per player or $750 for a five-man team. A wide variety of congratulatory advertising options are as low as $25 for a one-line message.





Mainieri Recaps MLB Draft Impact
Jun. 7
Baseball at Oregon St. - Audio Replay
Jun. 4
Baseball Highlights vs. Northwestern State
Jun. 3