Peterson, Nevis Named Bednarik Semifinalists

LSU's Patrick Peterson
LSU's Patrick Peterson
Chris Parent (@chrisparent)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Assoc. Athletic Director/Communications

BATON ROUGE - LSU defenders Drake Nevis and Patrick Peterson have been named two of the 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Bednarik Award, the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee announced on Monday.

The Bednarik Award is given annually to the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year in college football.

Currently, Peterson and Nevis are two of the key components on an LSU unit that leads the SEC in total defense (282.9) and pass defense (157.7) and ranks second in the league in scoring defense (16.2).

Nevis, who was named the National Defensive Player of the Week on Sunday by the Walter Camp Foundation for his play against Alabama, leads the Tigers with 12.5 tackles for loss and 6.0 sacks. Nevis, who has been named the SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week a league-high four times, is third on the squad with 47 tackles.

Peterson, who is considered the top cornerback in college football, has 28 tackles, two interceptions and three pass breakups to his credit this year. Peterson also ranks second in the SEC in both punt returns and kickoff returns.

The winner of the 16th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 9, 2010.  Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 22, 2010 and a second round of voting will take place at that time.  The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Friday, March 4, 2011 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.
Semifinalists for the 16th Chuck Bednarik Award
Acho, Sam, University of Texas, DE, SR
Amukamara, Prince, University of Nebraska, DB, SR
Bowers, Da'Quan Clemson University, DE, JR
Chekwa, Chimdi, Ohio State University, DB, JR
Clayborn, Adrian, University of Iowa, DE, SR
Fairley, Nick, Auburn University, DL, JR
Houston, Justin, University of Georgia, DL, JR
Jenkins, Brandon, Florida State University, DL, JR
Jones, Greg, Michigan State University, LB, SR
Kerrigan, Ryan, Purdue University, DL, SR,
Kuechly, Luke, Boston College, LB, SO
Nevis, Drake, LSU, DL, JR
Paea, Stephen, Oregon State University, DT, SR
Peterson, Patrick, LSU, DB, JR
Te'o, Manti, University of Notre Dame, LB, SO
Watt, J.J, University of Wisconsin, DL, JR





'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11
Football Operations Center Virtual Tour
May. 3
2018 #NFLSU Draft Trailer
Apr. 26