Kicker Jasper Among Groza Award Semifinalists

LSU's Josh Jasper
LSU's Josh Jasper
Steve Franz
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Assoc. Athletic Director/Communications

BATON ROUGE - LSU senior Josh Jasper has been named one of 20 semifinalists for the Lou Groza Award, which goes to the top placekicker in college football, the Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced on Friday.

Jasper, a native of Memphis, Tenn., joins Georgia's Blair Walsh as the only two kickers from the Southeastern Conference to make the list.

Jasper currently is tied with Walsh for the SEC lead in field goals with 14, which ranks ninth in the nation. This year, Jasper has connected on 14-of-17 field goal attempts and his 82.4 field goal percentage leads the SEC. Jasper is also first in the conference in field goals over 40 yards with five, which includes a 51-yarder against Mississippi State.

Earlier this year, Jasper set the LSU record for field goals in a game with five against Mississippi State.

For his career, Jasper has connected on 33-of-39 field goals and 59-of-60 point-after attempts.

The 20 semifinalists will be voted on by all Division 1 head coaches and SIDs, along with national, regional and local football writers and others who will select the three (3) finalists., These finalists will be honored at the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on December 7 in West Palm Beach, Fla., The winner will be announced live on the nationally televised Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on the evening of December 9, 2010.
The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza., Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. The 1,608 career points he scored is still a Browns' franchise record, and he ranks third all-time in league., Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.
2010 Lou Groza Award Semifinalists
Dan Bailey, Sr., Oklahoma State
Devin Barclay, Sr., Ohio State
Kyle Brotzman, Sr., Boise State
Dan Conroy, So., Michigan State
Derek Dimke, Jr., Illinois
Kai Forbath, Sr., UCLA
Kevin Goessling, Jr., Fresno State
Chris Hazley, Sr., Virginia Tech
Alex Henery, Sr., Nebraska
Dustin Hopkins, So., Florida State
Danny Hrapmann, Jr., Southern Miss
Josh Jasper, Sr., LSU
Aaron Jones, Fr., Baylor
Joe Phillips, Sr., Utah
Grant Ressel, Jr., Missouri
David Ruffer, Sr., Notre Dame
Will Snyderwine, Jr., Duke
Collin Wagner, Sr., Penn State
Blair Walsh, Jr., Georgia
Nate Whitaker, Sr., Stanford





This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Cannon on Goal-Line Stand vs. Ole Miss
May. 21
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11