Geaux Clear - Clear Bag Policy (Football)
LSU linebacker Kelvin Sheppard
LSU linebacker Kelvin Sheppard
Photo by:, LSU Athletics Publications
Sheppard, Peterson on Bednarik Watch List
Text smallerText larger
Published: August 09, 2010, 04:27 PM (CT)
Updated: August 18, 2010, 12:19 PM (CT)
by Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin), Associate SID

SOUTHAMPTON, Pa. - LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson and linebacker Kelvin Sheppard have been named to the "Watch List" for the 16th annual Chuck Bednarik Award, which is presented to college football's top defensive player, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Monday.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced on Nov. 8 and three finalists will be unveiled on Nov. 22. The winners of the 2010 Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Show which will be held on Dec. 9.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2010 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 69' and the NFL Hall of Fame 67'.

2010 Chuck Bednarik Award "Watch List"
Sam Acho, Texas, DE
Prince Amukamara, Nebraska, CB
Marvin Austin, North Carolina, DT
Akeen Ayers, UCLA, LB
Allen Bailey, Miami, DE
Mark Barron, Alabama, S
Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma, DE
Ahmad Black, Florida, S
Chris Borland, Wisconsin, LB
Vontaze Burfict, Arizona St., LB
Kendric Burney, North Carolina, CB
John Bynes, Auburn, LB
Tank Carder, TCU, LB
Jurrell Casey, USC, DT
Adrian Clayborn, Iowa, DE
Jack Crawford, Penn State, DE
Jared Crick, Nebraska, DT
Marcell Dareus, Alabama, DE
Ras-l Dowling, Virginia, CB
Mason Foster, Washington, LB
Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina, CB
Brandon Harris, Miami, CB
Mark Herzlich, Boston College, LB
Cameron Heyward, Ohio State, DE
Dont'a Hightower, Alabama, LB
Ross Homan, Ohio State, LB
Justin Houston, Georgia, LB
Greg Jones, Michigan St., LB
Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue, DE
Luke Kuechly, Boston College, LB
Travis Lewis, Oklahoma, LB
Colin McCarthy, Miami, LB
DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson, S
Josh McNary, Army, DE
Pernell McPhee, Mississippi St., DE
Bruce Miller, UCF, DE
Von Miller, Texas A&M, LB
Dontay Moch, Nevada, DE
Mike Mohamed, Cal, LB
Rahim Moore, UCLA, S
Stephen Paea, Oregon St., DT
Patrick Peterson, LSU, CB
Jerrell Powe, Ole Miss, DT
Robert Quinn, North Carolina, DE
Adrian Robinson, Temple, DE
Greg Romeus, Pittsburgh, DE
Kenny Rowe, Oregon, DE
Robert Sands, West Virginia, S
Tyler Sash, Iowa, S
Kelvin Sheppard, LSU, LB
Aldon Smith, Missouri, DE
Derrell Smith, Syracuse, LB
Manti Te'o, Notre Dame, LB
Trevin Wade, Arizona, CB
J.J. Watt, Wisconsin, DE
Aaron Williams, Texas, CB
Korey Williams, Southern Miss, LB
Lawrence Wilson, Connecticut, LB
Ryan Winterswyk, Boise St., DE
Alex Wujciak, Maryland, LB

Other watch lists:
Lott Trophy, April 21 (CB Patrick Peterson, LB Kelvin Sheppard)
Bronko Nagurski Trophy, June 21 (CB Patrick Peterson, LB Kelvin Sheppard)
Outland Trophy, June 21 (DT Drake Nevis)
Davey O'Brien Award, July 14
Jim Thorpe Award, Aug. 2 (CB Patrick Peterson)
Walter Camp Award, Aug. 9 (CB Patrick Peterson)
Bednarik Award, Aug. 9 (CB Patrick Peterson, LB Kelvin Sheppard)
Maxwell Award, Aug. 9 
Biletnikoff Award, Aug. 10
Ray Guy Award, Aug. 11
Manning Award, Aug 16 (QB Jordan Jefferson)
Butkus Award, Aug. 16 (LB Kelvin Sheppard)
Mackey Award, Aug. 16
Hornung Award, Aug. 17
Lou Groza Award, Aug. 20
Rotary Lombardi Award, Aug. 20
Doak Walker Award, Aug. 23
Rimington Trophy, Aug. 27
Lombardi Award, Aug. 27


Visit Baton Rouge
Flores MBA Program

360° Photos in Tiger Stadium (2014): 
- Gigapixel (9/20) | Coke Fancam (10/25) | Enterprise Fancam (11/8)
360° Facility Tours
Game Programs | Buy Online
Cheerleaders | Mike the Tiger
Media Only Football Gear
Kean Miller