Augustus, Spears Honored as 2004 Corbett Memorial Award Winners (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

NEW ORLEANS -- LSU student-athletes Marcus Spears and Seimone Augustus have been selected as the 2004 James J. Corbett Memorial Award winners by the Nokia Sugar Bowl Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Selection Committee and will be honored at its annual awards banquet and ceremony on Wednesday, May 11 at 7 p.m. in the Louisiana Superdome.

The award honors the athlete's accomplishments for the 2004 calendar year.

Spears, a defensive end for the Tigers, had one of the most dominating seasons for a defensive lineman in the history of the LSU football program. His year began with a 20-yard interception for a touchdown that proved to be the game-winning points against Oklahoma at the 2004 Nokia Sugar Bowl for the national championship in January, and he carried over his defensive prowess into his senior season where he was selected a Consensus First-Team All-America and first-team All-Southeastern Conference performer.

He anchored the Tiger defense to a No. 3 national ranking. He was also a semifinalist for three of the nation's top linemen awards.

Most recently, Spears was taken in the first round of the 2005 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys.

Augustus has made an impact on the women's college basketball scene since first donning a Lady Tiger Basketball uniform in 2002. Last year as a sophomore, she led LSU to the 2004 NCAA Women's Final Four and was selected a Kodak All-American, a first-team All-SEC selection as well as being voted the Louisiana Player of the Year.

Through the first two months of her junior season (Nov.-Dec.) she scored in double figures and led LSU to a perfect 12-0 record. Augustus is the first female back-to-back recipient of the Corbett Award and the first repeat honoree since Shaquille O'Neal garnered the honor in 1991 and 1992. She may be in line for a first-ever three-peat of the award next year with her play in the second half of her junior season as the Fighting Tigers again earned a birth in the NCAA Final Four.

The Corbett Award was created in 1967 and is named in honor of the late James J. Corbett and commemorates his many contributions to intercollegiate athletics and specifically to the Sugar Bowl. At the time of his death, Mr. Corbett was the Athletic Director at LSU. These awards are presented annually to the most outstanding male and female collegiate athletes in the State of Louisiana.

The Corbett recipients are selected each year by members of the Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, based on nominations submitted by the state's sports writers, sportscasters and sports information directors.



Athletic Dept.
LSU Top Plays - April 16-22
Apr. 23
Athletic Dept.
This Week in LSU Athletics - April 17-22
Apr. 17
Athletic Dept.
McWhorter Award Nominees - Kelly Quinn John David Moore
Apr. 16