Former Tigers Addai, McFarland Win Super Bowl

Anthony McFarland (AP Photo)
Anthony McFarland (AP Photo)
Associated Press (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

MIAMI -- Former LSU runningback Joseph Addai and defensive tackle Anthony "Booger" McFarland became the latest former Tigers to win Super Bowl rings, as the Indianapolis Colts defeated the Chicago Bears, 29-17, on Sunday.

Super Bowl XLI included former LSU football players for the eighth time in the past nine years. In the past four games, LSU players have been victorious.

This year, Addai caught 10 passes for 66 yards and rushed 19 times for 77 yards to lead the Colts in total offense. His 10 catches were one short of a Super Bowl record.

McFarland, who was inactive for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in their Super Bowl XXXVII victory over Oakland, earned his second ring by recording the Colts' only sack. He had two solo tackles in the game.

LSU Tigers Who Played in Past 10 Super Bowls

Super Bowl XLI
Joseph Addai, RB*, Indianapolis Colts
Anthony "Booger" McFarland, DT*, Indianapolis Colts

Super Bowl XL
Alan Faneca, LG*, Pittsburgh Steelers

Super Bowl XXXIX
Randall Gay, LCB*, New England Patriots
Jarvis Green, RE*, New England Patriots
Rohan Davey, QB, New England Patriots
Kevin Faulk, RB, New England Patriots

Super Bowl XXXVIII
Jarvis Green, DE, New England Patriots
Kevin Faulk, RB, New England Patriots
Brian Kinchen, SNP, New England Patriots

Super Bowl XXXVII
Tory James, RCB*, Oakland Raiders

Super Bowl XXXVI
Kevin Faulk, RB, New England Patriots

Super Bowl XXXV

Super Bowl XXXIV
Denard Walker, LCB*, Tennessee Titans

Super Bowl XXXIII
Tory James, DB, Denver Broncos

Super Bowl XXXII

* starter




This Week in LSU Athletics - April 17-22
Apr. 17
Inside the Huddle: LB Devin White
Apr. 11
LSU Pro Day Interview: Tyke Tolbert
Apr. 9