Landry Named Lott Award Quarterfinalist

LSU's LaRon Landry (left)
LSU's LaRon Landry (left) (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE -- LSU safety LaRon Landry is one of 17 players who have been named as quarterfinalists for the Lott Trophy, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation announced on Thursday.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  Now in its third year, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

“This is an impressive list of candidates,” said Lott.  “I believe that each of them is most deserving and it will be a difficult task to single out just one of these outstanding student-athletes.”

In his fourth season as a starter for the Tigers, Landry currently is second on the LSU squad in tackles with 40. He also has two tackles for losses, one interception and a blocked punt for the nation’s No. 1 rated defense.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

David Pollack of Georgia and DeMeco Ryans of Alabama were the winners of the first two Lott Trophies.  Both Georgia and Alabama received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds.  In two years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated $170,000 to various charities, in addition to the two universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches. The watch list will be trimmed to seven semifinalists on Nov. 9 and the three finalists will be announced Nov. 27.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach Dec. 10.

2006 Lott Trophy Quarterfinalists
H.B. Blades, Sr, LB, Pitt
Mkistro Bruce, Sr, DE, Washington State
Tim Crowder, Sr., DE, Texas
Buster Davis, Sr., LB, Florida State
Michael Griffin, Sr., DB, Texas
Korey Hall, Sr., LB, Boise State
Leon Hall, Sr., CB, Michigan
Daymeion Hughes, Sr., CB, Cal
LaRon Landry, Sr., S, LSU
Quentin Moses, Sr., DE, Georgia
Sam Olajubutu, Sr., LB, Arkansas
Quinn Pitcock, Sr., DT, Ohio State
Paul Posluszny, Sr., LB, Penn State
Anthony Spencer, Sr., DE, Purdue
Eric Weddle, Sr., DB, Utah
Patrick Willis, Sr., LB, Mississippi
LaMarr Woodley, Sr., DE, Michigan




This Week in LSU Athletics - May 22-27
May. 22
Cannon on Goal-Line Stand vs. Ole Miss
May. 21
'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11