Six Tigers Named to Pro Bowl; OBJ to be Captain

Tigers selected to the 2016 Pro Bowl
Tigers selected to the 2016 Pro Bowl
LSU Athletics Creative Services
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Assoc. Athletic Director/Communications

BATON ROUGE – Former standout LSU wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. has been named one of four team captains for the Pro Bowl and will help determine the rosters for Team Irvin and Team Rice when the Pro Bowl Draft takes place tonight.

The Pro Bowl Draft will be televised on ESPN2 beginning at 6:30 p.m. CT this evening. Pro Football Hall of Famers Michael Irvin and Jerry Rice will serve as NFL Legends captains for their Pro Bowl squads – Team Irvin and Team Rice – and will select their coaching staff.

Five-time Pro Bowler Darren Woodson (Team Irvin) and two-time Pro Bowler Eric Davis (Team Rice) will serve as defensive co-captains and will be assisted in tonight’s Pro Bowl Draft by the four team captains, one of which is Beckham Jr. Other team captains include Geno Atkins, Aaron Donald and Devonta Freeman.

The 2016 Pro Bowl will take place at 6 p.m. on Sunday, Jan 31 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu. The game will be televised by ESPN.

In addition to Beckham Jr., five other former LSU standouts were selected to the Pro Bowl and they will be among the pool of players available to Beckham Jr., for tonight’s draft. Other Tigers in the Pro Bowl include: offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth (Bengals), wide receiver Jarvis Landry (Dolphins) cornerback Patrick Peterson (Cardinals), offensive guard Trai Turner (Panthers) and defensive back Tyrann Mathieu (Cardinals).

Turner will miss the game due to the Carolina Panthers advancing to the Super Bowl, while Mathieu is recovering from knee surgery and will not participate in the game.





Devin White - Message to LSU
Jan. 14
LSU Top Plays - Jan. 1-6
Jan. 7
Football vs. UCF (2019 Fiesta Bowl) - Highlights
Jan. 2