Football Set to Report; View Camp Schedule

LSU head coach Les Miles
LSU head coach Les Miles
Steve Franz
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Assoc. Athletic Director/Communications

BATON ROUGE – The LSU football team reports to campus on Wednesday as the Tigers begin preparations for the 2015 season opener against McNeese State.

LSU will welcome 105 players to campus on Wednesday with the first day of practice set for Thursday.

Wednesday will consist of a series of organizational, academic and team meetings for the Tigers as they prepare for the first day of practiced the following day. The players will also be fitted for equipment as well as undergoing physicals and other screenings with the medical staff.

“This is always an exciting time of year,” 11th-year LSU coach Les Miles said. “I know the staff is ready to get started. I think our players have had a good summer; they’ve worked hard and gotten bigger, stronger and faster. Now it’s time to take all of that summer work and put it to use on the practice field.”

LSU returns a total of 14 starters on offense and defense, including running back Leonard Fournette, who set the school’s freshman rushing record a year ago. Defensively, linebacker Kendell Beckwith and cornerback Tre'Davious White headline a group that led the Southeastern Conference in total defense a year ago.

LSU will spend the first four days of practice with split-squad workouts. The veterans will practice in the morning for the first four days, while the newcomers along with some selected veterans will work out in the afternoon. LSU will practice as a full squad for the first time on Monday, Aug. 10.

The August practice calendar also features three scheduled scrimmages, the first coming on Saturday, Aug. 15. LSU is also slated to scrimmage on Saturday, Aug. 22 and then again on Aug. 25. The first day of classes at LSU start on Monday, Aug. 24.

The following is a look at LSU’s practice and scrimmage schedule leading into the first week of class:

Wednesday, Aug. 5
Team Reports to West Campus Apartments

Thursday, Aug. 6
9:35 a.m. Veterans Practice
3:50 p.m. Freshman/Selected Veterans practice

Friday, Aug. 7
9:30 a.m. Veterans Practice
3:45 p.m. Freshman/Selected Veterans practice

Saturday, Aug. 8
9:20 a.m. Varsity Practice
3:45 p.m. Freshman/Selected Veterans practice

Sunday, Aug. 9
9:15 a.m. Varsity Practice
3:45 p.m. Freshman/Selected Veterans practice

Monday, Aug. 10
9:25 a.m. Practice – First Full Squad Practice (Full Pads)

Tuesday, Aug. 11
3:45 p.m. Walk-thru

Wednesday, Aug. 12
8:35 a.m. Practice
3:45 p.m. Practice

Thursday, Aug. 13
9:15 a.m. Practice

Friday, Aug. 14
9:05 a.m. Practice

Saturday, Aug. 15
11:15 a.m. Scrimmage

Sunday, Aug. 16
3:30 – 5 p.m. LSU Football Media Day – Football Operations Building
5 – 6:30 p.m. LSU Fan Day – Basketball Practice Facility/Maddox Field House

Monday, Aug. 17
8:45 a.m. Practice
4:15 p.m. Practice

Tuesday, Aug. 18
4:15 p.m. Practice

Wednesday, Aug. 19
8:45 a.m. Practice
4:15 p.m. Practice

Thursday, Aug. 20
Break Camp – No Practice

Friday, Aug. 21
11:15 a.m. Practice

Saturday, Aug. 22
11:15 a.m. Scrimmage

Sunday, Aug. 23
No Practice

 

Related

RECENT HEADLINES

VIDEO

2:25
Football
2019 Football Spring Game - Highlights
Apr. 6
2:47:15
Football
2019 Football Spring Game - Audio Replay
Apr. 6
2:23
Football
Coach Orgeron Interview - Pre Spring Game
Apr. 3
VIDEO & AUDIO ARCHIVES