Plaisance, Moncrief Garner All-SEC Selections

LSU's Theresa Plaisance was named to the league's first team
LSU's Theresa Plaisance was named to the league's first team
Steve Franz
Matt Dunaway
Matt Dunaway

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – LSU senior forward Theresa Plaisance and freshman guard Raigyne Moncrief picked up All-SEC First-Team and All-SEC Freshmen-Team accolades as announced Tuesday by the SEC office and voted upon by the league coaches.

For Plaisance, she becomes the 13th player in program history to earn All-SEC First-Team honors during consecutive seasons and extends LSU’s streak to 11 consecutive seasons with at least one player listed among the All-SEC First Team. Moncrief is the fourth LSU player to garner an All-SEC Freshman-Team selection joining Allison Hightower (2007), LaSondra Barrett (2008) and Danielle Ballard (2013). 

Plaisance pumped in 15.6 points, 7.6 rebounds and 1.4 blocks per game. All three marks are ranked inside the SEC’s Top 10. She became the 18th player to amass 1,000 career points and 500 career rebounds in program history. The New Orleans native has garnered 19 straight games in double figures this season and 35 consecutive 10-plus scoring efforts against SEC opponents, a run which dates back to the 2011-12 season. Plaisance has reached the 20-point plateau five times on the season and racked up 156 of her 283 points during the second half of SEC action. Her nine blocks at Alabama equaled a LSU single game record set by Cheri Graham during the 1981-82 season.

Moncrief collected 10.6 points, 4.8 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.9 steals per game. She produced 14 double-figures and her 10.6 points per game were fifth among SEC freshmen. On the defensive end, Moncrief’s 1.9 steals per game were seventh on the leaderboard. She poured in a season-best 27 points during LSU’s win versus Rutgers en route to Barclays Invitational Most Outstanding Player and collected a SEC season-high 19 points at No. 13 Kentucky. After both performances, Moncrief tallied SEC Freshman of the Week honors.   

LSU faces off with Alabama during Thursday’s second round of the 2014 SEC Tournament. Tip time is scheduled for 5 p.m. CT from the Arena at Gwinett Center. The game will be televised by Fox Sports Network (FSN), SportSouth (SPSO) and with Dave Baker and Nell Fortner serving as the announcing team.

The LSU Sports Radio Network will broadcast the game on Talk 107.3 FM in Baton Rouge and inside the Geaux Zone at Patrick Wright, the voice of the Lady Tigers, has the radio call.

For all of the latest news and information on Lady Tiger basketball, visit Fans can also follow the program on its social media outlets at along with @lsuwbkb and @nikkicaldwell on Twitter.

2013-14 SEC Women’s Basketball Awards

All-SEC First Team
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Jaterra Bonds, Florida
Isabelle Harrison, Tennessee
Bri Kulas, Missouri
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Tyrese Tanner, Auburn
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M
Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina

All-SEC Second Team
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Tia Faleru, Ole Miss
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt
Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss
Jennifer O’Neill, Kentucky
DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky
Courtney Williams, Texas A&M

All-SEC Freshman Team
Andraya Carter, Tennessee
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Linnae Harper, Kentucky
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Raigyne Moncrief, LSU
Brandy Montgomery, Auburn
Breanna Richardson, Mississippi State
Ashley Williams, Alabama
Ronni Williams, Florida

All-SEC Defensive Team
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Elem Ibiam, South Carolina
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Hasina Muhammad, Auburn
Tyrese Tanner, Auburn

SEC Specialty Awards
SEC Coach of the Year: Dawn Staley, South Carolina
SEC Player of the Year: Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
SEC Freshman of the Year: Alaina Coats, South Carolina
SEC Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Martha Alwal, Mississippi State/Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
SEC Co-6th Players of the Year: Jennifer O’Neill, Kentucky / Alaina Coates, South Carolina
SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Lianna Doty, Missouri





Women's Basketball
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - March 13-18
Mar. 19
Women's Basketball
This Week in LSU Athletics - March 19-25
Mar. 19
Women's Basketball
NCAA WBB First Round Highlights and Press Conference
Mar. 17