O'Bryant, Mickey Receive SEC Weekly Honors

LSU's Johnny O'Bryant III (2) along with Jordan Mickey (25) and Anthony Hickey (1)
LSU's Johnny O'Bryant III (2) along with Jordan Mickey (25) and Anthony Hickey (1)
Kyle Zedaker
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Communications Sr. Associate

BATON ROUGE – LSU forwards Johnny O'Bryant III and Jordan Mickey were both honored by the Southeastern Conference for their play in the Tiger basketball teams wins over nationally-ranked Kentucky and Arkansas.

O'Bryant III earned SEC Player of the Week honors for the first time in his career while Mickey earned SEC Freshman of the Week honors for the third time this season.

O'Bryant III, a junior from Cleveland, Miss, averaged 26 points, nine rebounds and two assists in the two victories. O'Bryant III had his highest scoring game of the season against Kentucky with 29 points to go with nine rebounds, two blocks and a steal. He followed that up with 23 points, nine rebounds four assists and a block against Arkansas. He shot 63.8 percent (23-of-36) from the field in the two games. He has had five straight double figure scoring games that has raised his scoring average two full points from 13.8 to 15.8. In his last five games, he has led LSU to a 4-1 record while averaging 21.6 points and hitting 58.6 percent from the field.

O'Bryant III now has 11 games of 20 or more in his career.

LSU's Mickey, a 6-foot-8, 220-pounder from Dallas, Texas, was named SEC Freshman of the Week after averaging 18 points, 8.5 rebounds and 5.5 blocks in wins against Kentucky and Arkansas. He recorded his sixth double-double of the year with 22 points, 11 rebounds and six blocks against Arkansas. He started the week with 14 points, six rebounds and five blocks against Kentucky. His 11 blocks on the week moved his season total to 75, just 25 shy of becoming just the second LSU player (joining Shaquille O'Neal) to block 100 shots in a season.

Mickey earned the award earlier in the year after his first two games of the year and in mid-December after scoring 25 against ULM. Storm Warren won the award in the 2008-09 season one time, while Anthony Randolph (2007-08) and Tyrus Thomas (2005-06) each won it four times in their freshman seasons.

O'Bryant III joins recent winners from LSU of the POW like present teammate senior Shavon Coleman, who won it December 2012, Ralston Turner and Justin Hamilton (2011-12) and Marcus Thornton, a three-time winner in 2008-09.

LSU next plays at Georgia on Thursday night at 6 p.m. on ESPN2 before hosting Auburn on Saturday at 3 p.m. Tickets are available at LSUtix.net.




Men's Basketball
The Will Wade Show - Week 13
Feb. 19
Men's Basketball
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - Feb. 14-18
Feb. 19
Men's Basketball
Men's Basketball Highlights vs. Missouri
Feb. 17