Four Soccer Players Named to All-State Teams

LSU's Jade Kovacevic
LSU's Jade Kovacevic
Elizabeth Thompson (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

HAMMOND, La. - Jade Kovacevic and Alex Arlitt led four Tigers on the 2012 Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana Collegiate Women's Soccer Teams, which were announced by the LSWA on Saturday.

Kovacevic dished out all six of her assists in Southeastern Conference play, while Arlitt tied for the team lead with four goals.

Along with the pair named to the first team, goalkeeper Megan Kinneman and Fernanda Pina each received honorable mention.

Louisiana Tech junior forward Emily Brennan and Southeastern Louisiana senior goalkeeper Lacey Bockhaus shared Player of the Year honors.

Eleven student-athletes received honorable mention recognition. The LSWA All-Louisiana Soccer Teams were selected by the state's sports information directors.

2012 LSWA All-Louisiana Women's Soccer Team

First Team
Name - School - Cl. - Pos. -- Hometown
Maiya Cooper - Southeastern Louisiana - Sr. - F - Hawthorne, Calif.
Jade Kovacevic - LSU - Fr. - MF/D - Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Emily Brennan - Louisiana Tech - Jr. - F - Plano, Texas
Brittany Beddow - Louisiana Tech - Fr. - MF - Keller, Texas
Karlea Fehr - Louisiana-Monroe - Fr. - F - Lakewood, Colo.
Spencer Valdespino - Nicholls State - Fr. - F - Spring Hill, Fla.
Kayla Vera - Southeastern Louisiana - Fr. - F - Vancouver, Wash.
Alex Arlitt - LSU - So. - MF - Houston, Texas
Mo Rockwell - Louisiana Tech - Sr. - D - Salt Lake City, Utah
Brooke Martin - LSU-Shreveport - Sr. - MF - San Antonio, Texas
Lacey Bockhaus - Southeastern Louisiana - Sr. - GK - San Leandro, Calif.

Player of the Year: (tie) Emily Brennan, Louisiana Tech and Lacey Bockhaus, Southeastern Louisiana
Freshman of the Year: Kayla Vera, Southeastern Louisiana
Newcomer of the Year: Jackie Strug, Northwestern State
Coach of the Year: Kevin Sherry, Louisiana Tech

Honorable Mention: Jackie Strug, Northwestern State; Ashlee Savona, Northwestern State; Kerry McWhirter, Southeastern Louisiana; Karly Dagys, Southeastern Louisiana; Taylor Bergeron, Louisiana College; Fernanda Pina, LSU; Mette Rudolfsen, Louisiana Tech; Sarah Lalanne, McNeese State; Brennan Moss, McNeese State; Megan Kinneman, LSU; Emily Breaux, Louisiana College.





'The Tribute' - Celebrating LSU Athletics Graduates
May. 11
Nissan #LSUTopPlays - Oct. 18-22
Oct. 23
Soccer vs. Texas A&M - Recap
Oct. 20